January 23, 2022

Kaasin is a new band put together by the Norwegian guitarist Jo Henning Kaasin and some of you may know him for his work with Come Taste The band, a vehicle he shared with some pretty top notch musicians in Joe Lynn Turner, Glen Hughes, Doogie White and Bernie Marsden. The clue is in the name as Come Taste The Band originally began life as a Deep Purple tribute act which then released the most excellent original music album Reignition in 2019. Obviously, you do not have to be a genius to realise that Jo Henning Kaasin is more than a little inspired by bands like Deep Purple, Alcatrazz and Whitesnake in their prime and he has a real feeling for all things that are and have been influenced by ’70s hard rock.

Kaasin, the band, has now released the first album, Fired Up, and it really makes you sit up and take notice especially so if you are a fan of Deep Purple and, let’s face it, who isn’t? Kaasin has recruited well with Jan Thore Grefstad on vocals and he has a sound of Ronnie James Dio and Doogie White and is truly outstanding as the voice of the band. Jo’s cousin Staale plays bass, Chris Bush provides bass and Benjamin Dehli is a demon with his all action Jon Lord styled keyboards and organ. Over this, Jo Henning Kaasin plays some killer guitar inspired by the man in black himself. Think Deep Purple particularly In Rock, Stormbringer and Burn territory to get a real taste of this excellent retro album that is Purple to the core and is a thrilling and truly enjoyable and memorable ride.

The CD versions two bonus tracks in Revelation and Runaway Train which were both put out as digital singles last year and also gained a lot of attention for the band. Fired Up is a must have album for those brought up on ’70s hard rock and newcomers to the scene will be delighted with this modern take and if it then sends them back in time on a journey of discovery then so much the better.

Fired Up

  1. We Are One (5:00)
  2. Hidden (4:00)
  3. The Smoking Gun 4:29)
  4. Carry On (4:51)
  5. Shades Of Yesterday (3:41)
  6. Walking Downwards (3:27)
  7. Chain Of Love (4:02)
  8. Wrong 5:25)
  9. Inside Out (2:20)
  10. Revelation (CD bonus track) (4:49)
  11. Runaway Train (CD bonus track) (3:43)