February 19, 2022

Kandia is an alternative metal band from Porto in Portugal with Quaternary being the fourth release to date. The band was formed in 2007 by vocalist Nya Cruz and guitarist André Da Cruz with the self released debut album Light , Inward Beauty/Outward Reflection, coming out in 2010 with the third album, All Is Gone, following in 2013. It’s been a while since then and a change of label to Frontiers seems to have given the musicians the motivation to get back in the studio for this new album which was written and recorded with Daniel Cardoso of Anathema.

I haven’t heard what has gone before but Quaternary shows an aggressive rock band high on emotion and full of ferocious riffs, searing lead breaks and powerhouse drums and bass and all with a take no prisoner’s attitude. They name influences ranging through Tool, A Perfect Circle, Metallica, Pantera, Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree and there are a couple of uneasy bedfellows there too but I found it more to be Within Temptation meets A Perfect Circle combination and a very fine metal album it is too.

The vocals of Nya Cruz are the real stand out on the record as she has such a perfect, clear, controlled and driven voice and really is a singer to keep a close eye on as she has so much talent and ability. André Da Cruz is a fast and furious guitarist who loves to lay down huge industrial/nu-metal riffs that drill into your brain with the beauty of Nya Cruz helping to sweeten the mix but if you love guitar driven metal and swathes of riffs then you’ll be blown away by Kandia as this is a band and an album that ticks every box.

There is really so much happening here and you can pick up on everything due to the great job that has been done on production, mixing and mastering. André Da Cruz plays bass as well as lead guitar with synthesizers from Paulo Martins and Daniel Cardoso plays drums, additional synths, keyboards and guitar. Pedro Mendes plays the guitar solos Fight Or Flight and Until The End and you simply have to check out Murderers which features some stunning sax work from Jorgen Monkeby.

The album impresses on the first couple of listens but improves exponentially with every additional play making this something of an essential release. Kandia is, perhaps, not a name that many of us know at the moment but I’m convinced all that will change when this fine album hits the market.


  1. Anthropocene (1:02)
  2. Obliterate (4:08)
  3. The Flood (3:46)
  4. Fight Or Flight (3:37)
  5. Until The End (4:18)
  6. Turn Of The Tide (4:43)
  7. Pbp (4:51)
  8. Deathwish (3:52)
  9. Murderers (feat Jorgen Munkeby) (5:19)
  10. A New Dawn (3:18)
  11. Holocene (5:39)