August 14, 2021

Hot on the heels of of his well received debut solo album, The Rumble (released in mid-June), Perfect Plan frontman Kent Hilli has announced the forthcoming release of a new covers EP entitled Vital 4. Teaming up once again with producer/musician and fellow Swede Michael Palace, Hilli offers his take on songs by Joe Lynn Turner, Michael Bolton, Signal and Europe, with an opening salvo available from today in the form of a single and lyric video for his version of Arms Of A Stranger by Signal.

Vital 4 track list

  1. Losing You (Joe Lynn Turner)
  2. Can’t Turn It Off (Michael Bolton)
  3. Arms Of A Stranger (Signal)
  4. More Than Meets The Eye (Europe)

Hilli explains that “I chose these four songs because they are among my top 10 songs of all time and these singers are on my top 10 list of the best Melodic Rock/ AOR singers of all time. I have always wanted to cover these songs and I enjoyed every second doing them with my buddy Mike [Palace]…listen to his guitar playing on these songs. Wow!”

The Rumble is available (click image)

Hilli joined forces with the multi-talented Mike Palace to create The Rumble, with the latter producing the record and providing instrumentation on what turned out to be the proverbial partnership made in heaven. The album resounds with inspiration from Hilli‘s aforementioned idols, with a musical style that is built into his DNA. Other legendary voices such as Lou Gramm, Jimi Jamison, Dann Huff and David Coverdale have also influenced his technique, although Hilli‘s fans will also point out that he is very much his own singer and one of the finest to emerge in the melodic rock scene in some time.

Kent Hilli – lead and backing vocals
Michael Palace – instrumentation and backing vocals

Kent Hilli online: