December 1, 2022

Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce a new album by Khymera (masterminded by US musician and current Magnum bassist Dennis Ward), with Hold Your Ground scheduled for release on 10th February 2023. A first single and video from it for the song Firestarter is available now.

Hold Your Ground sees Ward handle lead vocals, bass and keyboards, while Michael Klein (guitar), Eric Ragno (keyboards), Michael Kolar (drums) and Pete Newdeck (backing vocals) provide other instrumentation. The result is another fine slice of high pedigree melodic rock, with Khymera remaining a shining example of what great European AOR is all about: crystal clear production, soaring vocals, killer musicianship and songwriting that reminds fans of the heyday of the genre when bands such as Giuffria, Icon and Signal were all releasing classic albums.

Khymera had originally begun as an alliance between Italian producer/musician Daniele Liverani and then Kansas singer Steve Walsh, but it developed into a regular band when bassist and producer Ward entered the fold. Having always been comfortable singing backing vocals, Ward was happy to take over lead vocal duties for the Khymera albums A New Promise‘ (2005) and The Greatest Wonder (2008). Following a hiatus, The Grand Design was issued in 2015, with Master Of Illusions appearing five years later. A melodic tour de force, that record had shown off Ward‘s vocal ability and full range of skills as a songwriter and producer, while Hold Your Ground is the next logical chapter in his and the group’s progression.

Hold Your Ground

  1. Don’t Wait For Love
  2. Firestarter
  3. Hear Me Calling
  4. Sail On Forever
  5. Our Love Is Killing Me
  6. Hear What I’m Saying
  7. Believe In What You Want  
  8. On The Edge
  9. Could Have Been Us
  10. Runaway
  11. Am I Dreaming

Dennis Ward – lead vocals, bass, keyboards
Michael Klein – guitars
Eric Ragno – keyboards
Michael Kolar – drums
Pete Newdeck – backing vocals

KHYMERA online: