September 30, 2021

Kiko Shred is a Brazilian guitarist and I’m not sure if Shred is his real name or adopted moniker as, either way, it is most appropriate given that he is prone to extended and extravagant neo-classic solos which are very much in Yngwie Malmsteen territory. It seems that Shred has been appearing in various rock bands on the South American scene for something like 22 years and has built up quite a reputation as a guitarist of repute and based on his efforts on this CD it is very easy to see why he is so highly regarded.

He has also run his own successful solo career with Kiko Shred’s Rebellion with Rebellion being his fourth album to date following the debut Riding The Storm which came out in 2015. It looks like the two first albums saw Shred playing all instruments and supplying vocals too and it wasn’t until Royal Art in 2019 that the solo project became a group with Will Costa on bass, Lucas Tagliari on drums and Mario Pastre on vocals. The line up for Rebellion sees Costa and Tagliari retained whilst new vocalist Ed Gadlin takes over the microphone. I cannot comment on what went before but Gadlin is a fine singer with something of a strident, urgent delivery and he matches Shred very well with his speedy vocals sitting comfortably alongside the speed metal solos.

There may be a band involved but this is very much Kiko Shred’s project and he takes every opportunity to showcase his skills but he has the talent and flair for showmanship so why not! If you are into Michael Schenker, Axel Rudi Pell and Yngwie Malmsteen then you will thoroughly enjoy this quality rock album. Kiko Shred is not yet at the illustrious levels of those three guitar gods but he is slowly working his way up there and you most definitely get the impression that he has a classic metal album within him and Rebellion is not that far short of being it.

Watch out for a cameo performance from Doogie White on Thorn Across My Heart which further reinforces the intentions of Shred to operate in Rainbow territory and even stake a claim to be the new Ritchie Blackmore. There is much hear for the heavy rock/power metal fan to enjoy and more than a casual listen is highly recommended especially if neoclassical guitarists are your particular favourite.

Rebellion track list

  1.  Intro (0:56)
  2. Mirror (4:36)
  3. Rainbow After The Storm (5:58)
  4. Rebellion (5:36)
  5. Thorn Across My Heart (feat. Doogie White) (5:38)
  6. Mors Non Separabit (5:53)
  7. Honour To The Fallen Brothers (6:20)
  8. The Hierophant (4:16)
  9. Voodoo Queen (4:13)
  10. Information War (5:39)