March 6, 2022

It’s almost like someone has opened a time tunnel from the 1960s and Komodor are the first band through with their groovy and rather trippy inspired pop/rock classy tracks which most definitely have a flavour of bands like Marmalade and The Hollies. Actually, Komodor is a retro rock band from Brittany in France with Nasty Habits being their debut release and it follows on from a rather nifty and successful 4-track EP released in 2019. They have incorporated a little funk and fuzz guitar into their sound so that it manages to sound retro but still fresh and modern which is no mean feat to pull off.

In truth, the inspirations of the band are many with both the celebrated sounds of the ’60s and ’70s coming together to make for a real nostalgia based 39-minutesof retro rock heaven. Plenty of vocal harmonies, melodies and deliciously radio friendly songs with just the right amount of psychedelia with a hint of garage and indie rock for those not too familiar with the ’60s.

The band appears to be Elrik Monroe on drums, Goudzou on bass, Ronnie Calva on lead guitar and Slyde Barnett on vocals and guitar and what an appealing voice he has too. The band all name check the likes of Foghat T-Rex, Grand Funk Railroad, Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac and Jefferson Airplane so they are listening to the right sort of music and bands to enable them to write with such an accurate retro flavour. However, you need to have real talent to make it sound this easy and talent is one thing this band has in plentiful supply. The more times you listen then you pick up more influences with a touch of Sweet, a bit of Black Cherry and even a little of the Osmonds and a fair bit just about any other band you care to mention.

In truth, they appear to be another of those bands that could produce any sort of music from smooth soul to heavy metal and it is going to be fun watching to see them develop with Nasty Habits being a brilliant way to introduce your band to the music world. The sound is both friendly and familiar and that is the real genius to make it familiar yet totally new!

Nasty Habits

  1. Give Up (3:50)
  2. Believe It (4:23)
  3. Set Me Free (2:56)
  4. Just An Escape (4:04)
  5. Mamacita (4:02)
  6. Nasty Habits (3:58)
  7. Heavy Maria (2:57)
  8. Debt City (3:34)
  9. Through The Highway (2:43)
  10. Washing Machine Man (3:10)
  11. Moondrag (3:00)