February 19, 2022

Kraemer is a new melodic rock project built around the Finnish vocalist Erik Kraemer of the progressive metal outfit Simulacrum (also Finnish) with All The Way being a fairly typical Scandinavian hard but melodic rock album.

He has put a neat team together with guitarist Andrea Seveso (Robin McAuley), drummer Michele Sanna (Brother Against Brother) and Alessandro Del Vecchio on bass, keyboards and backing vocals and I just have to wonder if he ever takes a day’s holiday or just how he keeps up to date with the bands and projects that he is involved in! Erik Kraemer is another musician who likes to keep busy having been involved in musical theatre as well as appearing on Timo Tolkki’s Infinite Visions project as well as Mirka Rantanen’s (King Company) Circus Of Rock project which is very understanding given his wonderful delivery.

The songs are all upbeat and infectious melodic rock delights with the usual hooks and pleasing vocal harmonies with the material being written by a number of musicians and song writers involved with the Frontiers label and its associated bands. Trust me; these guys know how to write perfect melodic rock classics and the band has done a great job in bringing them to life. Kraemer’s voice is powerful and pleasing with an accent free delivery that helps open up the American market with everything about this album being typical Scandinavian AOR in that they excel with that crucial trans-Atlantic sound that definitely broadens their appeal. The songs are soaring and even flirt with pop territory giving them a very radio friendly flavour yet they satisfy any hard rockers demands in that they are still heavy enough to please and feature some quite amazing guitar work from Andrea Seveso, maybe not a household name but a guitarist who definitely deserves more recognition.

All The Way doesn’t really offer anything new in the melodic rock world but how can it really as those famous American legendary bands nailed the genre back in the ’70s and ’80s. However, this is a pleasing rock album featuring plenty of great tunes, excellent musical performances, a great singer and is an easy listening rock album that very quickly becomes like an old friend. If you are into bands like Treat, H.E.A.T. and Eclipse then this is for you.

All The Way

  1. Moment For Me (3:40)
  2. All The Way (3:09)
  3. The King Will Come (4:05)
  4. Eat Your Heart Out (3:50)
  5. Tonight (4:05)
  6. Take Me Back To (4:02)
  7. How Can I Survive (4:11)
  8. Cold Spell (4:03)
  9. Lovin’ A Stranger (3:30)
  10. I’m In Love Again (3:38)
  11. Forever (4:45)