January 26, 2024

One of modern hard rock’s most exciting breakouts in recent years, KRIS BARRAS BAND are bringing all-new, arena-sized grit to 2024 with their new album Halo Effectset for release on April 12, 2024, via independent label Earache Records.

Fans got a first taste of what Halo Effect has in store with lead single, Unbreakable. The band then came out swinging in 2024 with album-opening new single, Hourglass.

Defiantly not a one trick pony, today KRIS BARRAS BAND share a special version of new single Landslide, performed on piano. Watch its official video here. Get the track here

Landslide (Piano Version) is included on a newly announced, indie store CD edition of the album, Halo Effect – Piano & Acoustic Edition, which includes alternative artwork alongside 5 bonus acoustic and piano versions of album tracks. See full track listing below.

Frontman Kris Barras interjects, “Anyone that has followed us for a few years, will know that I’ve always liked doing unplugged versions of our songs, whether it’s acoustic or piano versions.

When choosing which tracks to do for the piano versions, Landslide felt perfect from the first play through. It’s perhaps one of the more obvious choices, as in an album full of generally heavier tracks, Landslide probably falls closest to what could be considered a ballad. 

The song is about always coming up short in a relationship and almost being self destructive in that situation. You realise your mistakes but struggle to make amends due to being your own worst enemy.”

This edition is only available from a limited number of outlets hosting intimate in-store events with KRIS BARRAS BAND, where Kris and Josiah from the band will do a short acoustic set and meet fans for autographs and photos.

The in-store dates line up as follows:

  • Fri 12th Apr – Vinilo, SOUTHAMPTON
  • Sat 13th Apr – HMV The Vault, BIRMINGHAM
  • Sun 14th Apr – Wax and Beans, BURY
  • Mon 15th Apr – The Jacaranda, LIVERPOOL 
  • Tues 16th Apr – Assai, EDINBURGH
  • Wed 17th Apr – Assai, GLASGOW 
  • Thu 18th Apr – Beyond Vinyl, NEWCASTLE
  • Sun 21st Apr – The Cavern, EXETER 
  • Mon 22nd Apr – Banquet Records @ The Fighting Cocks, KINGSTON 
  • Tue 23rd Apr – Rough Trade, NOTTINGHAM
  • Wed 24th Apr – Rough Trade East, LONDON
  • Thu 25th Apr – Truck Music, OXFORD *
  • Thu 25th Apr – Rough Trade, BRISTOL * 
  • Fri 26th Apr – Derricks Music, SWANSEA *
  • Fri 26th Apr – HMV, CARDIFF *

* some dates will show more than one event due to timings

For start times, and to pre-order the special edition and attend an in-store event, click here.

  1. Hourglass
  2. Unbreakable
  3. With You
  4. Savages
  5. Fall To Fly
  6. Waste Away
  7. Reflections
  8. Secrets
  9. Landslide
  10. Fear Of Letting Go
  11. Apocalypse

Bonus Tracks – (Only available on Piano & Acoustic Edition)

  1. Hourglass (Piano Version)
  2. Landslide (Piano Version)
  3. Secrets (Piano Version)
  4. Unbreakable (Acoustic Version)
  5. With You (Acoustic Version)

Amplifying the heavier sound from their last album Death Valley ParadiseHalo Effect delivers hard-hitting riffs, soaring choruses, and fuse-lighting technical solos. Recorded at Vada Recording Studios in Worcestershire and co-produced by Kris Barras with long-term collaborator Josiah J. Manning, the album also features co-writes with Zac Maloy and Blair Daly (Shinedown, Halestorm, Lynyrd Skynyrd).

Halo Effect is available to pre-order in all other versions/formats at earache.com/krisbarrasband, including colour vinyl (including a signed white & black splatter edition), signed CD, cassette, and on digital platforms.

For the full, electric live experience, don’t miss their UK headline tour in April 2024. Native sons of Devon, it’s no surprise that the band start off at The Foundry in Barras‘ hometown of Torquay.

  • Sat 6th Apr – TORQUAY The Foundry 
  • Fri 12th Apr – SOUTHAMPTON Engine Rooms 
  • Sat 13th Apr – WOLVERHAMPTON KK’S Steel Mill
  • Sun14th Apr – MANCHESTER Academy 
  • Wed 17th Apr – GLASGOW The Garage 
  • Thu 18th Apr – NEWCASTLE Boiler Shop 
  • Fri 19th Apr – NOTTINGHAM Rock City 
  • Sat 20th Apr – LONDON Islington Assembly Hall

KRIS BARRAS BAND also headline the historic Chepstow Castle on August 15, 2024, with support from Stone Broken, The Hot Damn!, and Dan Byrne. Get tickets here.

A former long-time Muay Thai and MMA pro-fighter, Kris Barras has his fans to thank for the conception of Halo Effect, which was written whilst riding the crest of the crowd response that the band experienced on their 2023 UK tour.

“Josiah and I set up a recording studio in the top lounge of the tour bus,” explains Kris. “We were super inspired by the audiences on that tour. We performed our heaviest set to date and noticed a real change in the crowd response. People were really vibing off of the heavier riffs and jam sections. The response at the shows massively fed the creativity for Halo Effect

Halo Effect still keeps the essence of what Kris Barras Band is: big riffs and even bigger choruses,” concludes Kris. “It’s just that, this time, we’ve turned everything up to 11 and beefed it up!”

KRIS BARRAS BAND comprises frontman Kris BarrasJosiah J. Manning on guitar, Billy Hammett on drums, and latest member Frazer Kerslake on bass.


Official Website