November 17, 2021

Kryptos formed in Bangalore, India in 1998 and the classic heavy metal band has been developing an ever growing reputation ever since. Force Of Danger is the band’s sixth album and follows on from 2019’s Afterburner which was actually the first time I came across them. It’s strange that you have a mental picture in your head of all the heavy metal hotspots in the world but I guess very few of us would think of India which is strange given the size of the country and, based on what Kryptos are doing and the immense number of Indian rock bands that actually exist, then I have no doubt that we are going to face a heavy metal invasion one day soon.

To be fair, if some of the bands are only half as good as Kryptos then we are going to be in for one hell of a rocking time! You only have to press play and a very British sounding hard rock bursts out of the speakers and there is very much a sound of the NWOBHM metal about Kryptos particularly early Iron Maiden and Diamond Head which make s them very much OK in my book.

The co-founders of the band are the rhythm guitarist Nolan Lewis and bassist Ganesh Krishnaswamy with Krishnaswamy being the vocalist up to 2005 with Lewis then taking over the microphone duties and they have made a few changes in the line-up over the years and are now completed by Rohit Chaturvedi on lead guitar and new to the band since 2019 is Vijit Singh on drums and I think he may have played on Afterburner or it may have been a session drummer. However, he has slotted in perfectly to make a powerful rhythm section with Krishnaswamy and in Rohit Chaturvedi the band has a truly inspirational guitarist who lays down thrilling solos and riffs with Lewis giving his sterling support. There are elements of Judas Priest in the band’s sound but they are also a touch thrash so expect Kreator and Mercyful Fate as well but they are not clones or a tribute band, just a group proudly showing their influences and very calmly carving out their own place in the rock firmament.

Ultimately, location is immaterial as it is all about the music and in that department Kryptos score very highly as they are purveyors of great hard rock and will get people headbanging wherever in the world they are playing. I think plans are being made for a European tour soon so if you see the name advertised near you then get a ticket as it sounds like these boys put on a great show.

Force Of Danger

  1. Raging Steel (3:49)
  2. Hot Wired (3:02)
  3. Dawnbreakers (4:14)
  4. Thunderchild (4:24)
  5. Nighthawk (4:12)
  6. Omega Point (6:21)
  7. Force of Danger (4:47)
  8. Shadowmancer (4:40)