January 20, 2023

Landfall is a fast and furious heavy yet truly melodic rock band from Curitaba in Brazil with Elevate being the second album following on from the impressive debut The Turning Point which announced the band to the world in 2020.

Landfall was put together by two long standing friends in drummer Felipe Souzza and guitarist Marcelo Gelbcke who then brought in bassist Thiago Forbeci and then the search for the ‘voice’ began which led them to Gui Oliver who was formerly with Auras which is another quality melodic rock band in the best traditions of bands like Toto and Survivor. Actually, before they encountered Oliver, Souzza, Gelbcke and Forbeci released three albums under the name of Wild Child and this allowed them to develop a real rapport and a rock solid base into which Oliver slotted in seamlessly. Gui Oliver has a fine voice being similar in sound and delivery to the one and only Steve Perry as well as the aggressive and hard rocking tones of the genius that is Joe Lynn Turner which made him the perfect frontman for Landfall and their heavy yet most melodic rock delivery.

As with Auras, the band has a most distinct American melodic/AOR vibe that calls to mind the usual outfits in Journey, Night Ranger, Dokken and Survivor so what you get is 100% pure melodic rock with roots most definitely in the Seventies and Eighties when AOR was in its pomp. For sure, Gui Oliver attracts your attention from the beginning with his powerful, soaring voice but he is just one facet of this perfectly formed band with Forbeci and Souzza combining perfectly in the engine room and in Marcelo Gelbcke Landfall has a real trump card as this guitarist lays down some amazing and truly inspiring and expressive solos that keep you enthralled with the album from start to finish, just have a listen to him as he lays down his blistering guitars and you will realise that this guy is the real deal!

It ia melodic rock so nothing new here but what you do get are some great songs, plenty of hooks, sensational instrumentation and a singer destined to make a real name for himself. Have a listen and tell me that you aren’t impressed!


  1. Never Surrender (5:02)
  2. Two Strangers (4:32)
  3. Waterfall (5:09)
  4. Rescue Me (4:01)
  5. Heroes Are Forever (4:27)
  6. Elevate (5:09)
  7. Feels Like Summer (3:52)
  8. H.O.P.E. (4:46)
  9. Shadows Of Love (4:34)
  10. The Wind (5:14)
  11. Chance To Destiny (4:58)

Elevate by Landfall is out now on Frontiers Records