August 28, 2021
Photo: Stefan Heilemann

England in the year 1066. The decisive battle near Stamford Bridge. Warriors fighting death, the grounds soaked in blood. Norway’s king Harald III, called Hardrada („the hard ruler“) lies dying. His whole life flashes before his eyes: cruel wars, fights over power, journeys to exotic worlds guiding to powerful women, emperors and kings falling into ruin. The last Viking King is dead – the Vikings’ age is over. Long live the Vikings.

The Last Viking is the 2020-monumental-piece of LEAVES’ EYES. The setting of the symphonic metal masterpiece couldn’t be more tremendous. With their cult-albums Vinland Saga (2005) and King of Kings (2015) they already turned Leif Eriksson‘s discovery of America and the life of Norway’s first king into music. Now, LEAVES’ EYES bring the Viking Sagas to their bombastic finale.

As always, LEAVES’ EYES attach importance to historical accuracy. History books were devoured, sagas had to be studied. “Some tv dramas or blockbusters make me smirk when I see the Viking Sagas turned upside down. We don’t mess around in mythology!” promises Alexander Krull (vocals), again responsible for conception and lyrics. The Last Viking itself would make a great screenplay. The sagas of Hardrada are full of drama, emotions and the everlasting fights for power. The Last Viking is the epic soundtrack to the mythical world of Viking adventures.

No doubt: all the musicians exactly know which buttons to push to play out all the strengths of LEAVES’ EYES. The energetic compositions proof the ingenious skills of the song writing duo Thorsten Bauer (guitars) und Alexander Krull (vocals). Straightforward and consequently they follow the line that already has garnered a significant worldwide fan base. Their die-hard followers will be more than pleased with Break Into The Sky, acting as a best-of track combining all of the bands’ musical qualities: enthralling song structures, touching melodies and a mystic aura.

All the 14 tracks individually impress with their unique build-up, rhythm and atmosphere. Mighty drums, Mediaeval instruments like nyckelharpa and fiddle and Celtic horns add spice to the diversified sound. The mystic elegy Two Kings One Realm surprises with yet unheard facets. The dark-pop ethno sound wouldn’t be expected from Germany’s symphonic-metal band no. 1. Mastermind Alexander Krull delivers a thrilling, fresh and razor-sharp audio production adding distinctiveness, dynamic and roughness to the sound of LEAVES’ EYES. The new versions of the immediately sold out EP Night Of The Ravens, Serkland and Black Butterfly make these tracks an all new adventure. The latter surprises with powerful guest vocals of the French rock sensation Clémentine Delauney (Visions of Atlantis, Exit Eden) that terrifically bring the smash-hit to new life.

In a over 100 minutes long documentary (incl. the new bonus chapter) you will learn everything about the focus and the diversity of Viking lifestyle. With subtitles in German, English, French and Spanish, all Viking fans can experience for themselves how incredibly international the scene is nowadays! The documentary shows with a surprising ease the diversity of Viking reenactment and gives you the desire to plunge into this hobby yourself!

LEAVES’ EYES have always played in a league of their own. They have toured all populated continents, frequently reach top positions in the album charts and with every output they deliver a multimedia masterpiece when it comes to video clips and artwork. With The Last Viking they surpass their own standards with the original film documentary “Viking Spirit”. Filmed worldwide, the growing Viking re-enactment scene will be visually praised here. Alex and the band became part of this community, long ago. With this film, historical facts merge with Nordic mythology, Viking-lifestyle and the sounds of LEAVES’ EYES, featuring friends and companions of the Viking scene. A long awaited complement to their body of work.

Of course, The Last Viking won’t be the closure of LEAVES’ EYES – it only fuels expectations what these geniuses will come up next with. With The Last Viking Leaves’ Eyes set up their own musical monument that is just as captivating and strong as the saga of the last Viking King itself.

Released on: 3-CD + 1-BDDigipak Set + Digital+ T-Shirt “Warriors” Size L-XXL 

The Last Viking (Midsummer Edition)


  1. Death Of A King
  2. Chain Of The Golden Horn
  3. Dark Love Empress
  4. Serpents And Dragons
  5. Black Butterfly (feat. Clémentine Delauney)
  6. War Of Kings
  7. For Victory
  8. Two Kings One Realm
  9. Flames In The Sky
  10. Serkland
  11. Varangians
  12. Night Of The Ravens
  13. The Last Viking
  14. Break Into The Sky Of Aeon

CD2 – Instrumental of CD 1 tracks


  1. Await Orre’s Storm (Soundtrack)
  2. Galeids Of The Væringjar (Soundtrack)
  3. Dread Hand’s Fame (Soundtrack)
  4.  Into The Depths Of Hell (Soundtrack)
  5. Chain Of The Golden Horn (Soundtrack Version)
  6. Land Of The Rus (Soundtrack)
  7. The Golden Secret (Soundtrack)
  8. Past Wide Plains (Soundtrack)
  9. Death Of A King (Soundtrack Version)
  10. Blazing Waters (2020 Version)


Elina Siirala (Vocals)

Alexander Krull (Vocals)

Thorsten Bauer (Guitar, Bass)

Micki Richter (Guitar)

Joris Nijenhuis (Drums)

LEAVES’ EYES online:

Official Website