September 1, 2019

Norwegian rock outfit, Leprous, have launched the first single, “Below”, off their sixth and most ambitious studio album, Pitfalls, out on October 25 worldwide via InsideOutMusic. An intense video, directed by Dariusz Szermanowicz / Grupa13 (Behemoth, Kreator, Amon Amarth) and filmed in Wroclaw, Poland, can be found below.

Vocalist and keyboardist Einar Solberg checked in with the following comment about “Below”: “‘Below’ was the first song written for the Pitfalls album and it was composed in a period of denial of what was to come. It was a very spontaneous song, made first with only piano and vocals. ‘Below’ is a very emotional and melancholic track, and it means a lot to me personally – both musically and lyrically. Large cinematic string arrangements, electronic elements, very acoustic and organic parts – all combined. Very epic but at the same time very fragile!”

Pitfalls was once again recorded with David Castillo at Ghostward Studios (Opeth, Katatonia), but this time mixed by Adam Noble (Placebo, Biffy Clyro, Nothing But Thieves, Deaf Havana). The cover artwork is a painting from Indonesian artist Elicia Edijanto. Pitfalls will be available as limited Mediabook CD with two bonus tracks (“Golden Prayers” and the Massive Attack cover “Angel”), as Standard Jewelcase CD and as Gatefold 2LP on 180gr. vinyl with the album on CD as bonus (in Europe!) and an Etching on the D-Side. Next to the unlimited black vinyl version, Pitfalls will also be available in the following limited coloured editions:

  • Clear 2 LP x200 copies (IOM Webshop Europe)
  • White 2LP x400 copies (IOM Webshop Europe & CM Distro Europe)
  • Transparent Red 2 LP x200 copies (O-Merch bandshop)
  • Dark Green 2LP x 200 copies (Band on tour)
  • Smoke 2LP x200 copies (Laser’s Edge)
  • Golden 2LP x200 copies (CM US onlineshop)

The album’s various formats can be pre-ordered here