March 11, 2023

Lugnet is a retro hard rock band from Sweden with the portentous and hard hitting Tales From The Great Beyond being their third album to date which has seen the group develop and expand their doom meets classic metal to near perfection.

Formed in Sweden in 2012, the band has changed considerably from the original team and now line-up with Johan Fahlberg on vocals, Matti Norlin and Micke Linder on guitars, Lennart Zethzon on bass and Fredrik Jansson-Punkka on drums. The names may have changed but the band has grown and flourished since those early days with hard, heavy and doom infused rock very much remaining the core sound of the band. The music is a curious and most pleasing mix of Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Dio, Ritchie Blackmore and a touch of Scorpions and early Judas Priest too. To add to what is already a very heady mix they also have guest keyboards including liberal use of Theremin from Dr Carl Westholm giving a sound of Uriah Heep and then there is a beautiful touch from Karolina Lif playing church organ on the album closing track Tåsjö Kyrkmarsch that calls to mind Bach’s Toccata and Fugue. Johan Fahlberg has a very definite sound of the brilliant David Byron about his delivery which makes a singer to savour as he thrills with his exciting delivery.

This is a rock album that explodes and swaggers with a real Seventies hard rock vibe as the band plays metal with a wild abandon whilst still delivering a clean clinical attack with needle like precision and serving up a twin guitar attack to relish. If you though that they did not make hard rock like this anymore then have a listen to Lugnet and prepare to be amazed. 

Tales From The Great Beyond is as good a retro rock album as I have heard in a very long time. Yet again, the Swedes have served up another reminder of just how integral this country now is to the world of all things rock!

Tales From The Great Beyond

  1. Still A Sinner (4:07)
  2. In Harvest Time (feat Dr Carl Westholm) (4:25)
  3. Another World (7:15)
  4. Out Of My System (4:02)
  5. Svarv (1:28)
  6. Eaten Alive (2:42)
  7. Pale Design (feat Dr Carl Westholm) (4:22)
  8. I Can’t Wait (4:32)
  9. Black Sails (feat Dr Carl Westholm) (8:21)
  10. Tåsjö Kyrkmarsch (feat Karolina Lif) (3:15)