May 14, 2023

Magic Wands is a US dark pop outfit originally formed in Nashville by guitarists & vocalists Chris and Dexy Valentine, but now based in Los Angeles where they have been joined by drummer Pablo Amador. Their name stems from the gift of a wand from Chris to Dexy when they first started making music together while still living on opposite sides of the country.

The group have released three albums over the last decade on which they have refined a shimmering and cosmic dream-pop sound that incorporates elements of shoegaze, post-punk and goth. Textured guitars, droning synths and delicate, ethereal vocals combine to create an otherworldly atmosphere.

Armed with songs that have often been praised on both sides of the Atlantic for their euphoric quality, especially in live performance, the trio themselves have remained dedicated to creating music that is both imaginative and emotionally engaging. They have developed a loyal fanbase drawn to their ability to create a sense of mysticism and wonder through their music.

Magic Wands have shared stages with the likes of Radiohead, Slowdive, Jesus & Mary Chain, The Horrors, Deerhunter, The Kills and The Black Keys. They also played their own headlining tours of the UK and mainland Europe in 2017-18.

Having released a single at the end of March entitled Joy, the group followed it in late April with Time. Complemented with a pair of remixes apiece, both are included on Switch, their brand new album that is out now.


  1. Prelude
  2. Joy
  3. Switch
  4. Daylight
  5. Falling Trees
  6. Starbreeze
  7. Time
  8. Whispers
  9. Dream ’92
  10. Sea Glass
  11. Further Away
  12. Candle Sea
  13. Joy (Blue Joy Remix by Shadow Mirrors) *
  14. Joy (All The Joy Remix by Stargods) *
  15. Sea Glass (Sea Remix by Shadow Mirrors) *
  16. Time (Misty Lake Remix by Shadow Mirrors) *
  17. Clockwork Remix by Stargods) *

* CD & digital formats only


Official Website

Metropolis Records