February 28, 2021

Marble is a hard rock band from Northern Italy with elements of progressive, power and melodic metal about their delivery. The band formed in 2003 and released the EP Trails And Dreams Of Reality in 2006 which they then followed up with the full debut album A.T.G.O.D. (At The Gates Of Destruction) in 2008. This was a reasonable debut with lots of interesting ideas and some great musical passages and a perfectly fine vocalist in Giancomo Cherubini. There then appears to have been a fair amount of internal turmoil with musicians coming and going but all that is behind them now and they have made a rather belated return with most of the original band and a new drummer, keyboard player and vocalist. The original members are Paul Beretta on lead guitar, Omar Gornati on guitar and Daniel Fleba on bass with the new comers being Jacopo Marchesi on keyboards, Norman Ceriotti on drums and Eleonora Travaglino on vocals. It always is a little surprising when bands change from male to female singers or vice versa and this often polarises the fanbase so it will be interesting to see what is made of this new appointment in Italy.

The new album is called S.A.V.E. and is a rather grandiose concept concerning human behaviour and the three theological virtues and the seven deadly sins which, as we all know, are the virtues Faith, Hope and Charity with the sins being Pride, Greed, Wrath, Envy, Lust, Gluttony and Sloth. You can always rely on Italian bands to go for heavyweight topics and not a hint of motorcycles, highways and women in sight! Musically, this is a very heavy album indeed with the twin guitars cranked to the maximum so expect plenty of hard hitting, earth shattering riffs and stratospheric lead breaks and powerhouse bass and drums maintaining a high intensity throughout with keyboards working in nice counterpoint. The music, even though very heavy, has plenty of hooks and great melodies but I have to say that I have some reservations about the vocals of Eleonora Travaglino as she does lose control especially when trying to crank up the power. All is fine when she is singing in normal range and register but when the power output is increased she tries just a little too hard to keep pace with the rest of the band and just seems a little out of tune with what they are doing. There is obviously a case for more work to be done here be it more suitable songs for her range or even a change in personnel so it will be interesting to see what happens.

The track 30 Silver Coins features growled vocals from guest singer Maurizio Caverzan from the death metal band In-Sight and these really work well with the music so this might be another option for the band to consider for the future. The music on S.A.V.E. is excellent but, sadly, the vocals just do not do justice to the music.

S.A.V.E. track list

  1. Mine (4:38)
  2. Heartless Disease (3:50)
  3. 30 Silver Coins (4:41)
  4. My Mask Collection (4:46)
  5. What Leads Us To (5:49)
  6. To Feed The Worms (4:36)
  7. A Darker Shade Of Me (2:38)
  8. Where Is The Light (4:17)
  9. Timelines (3:55)
  10. Daymare Town (4:05)
  11. Sins And Virtues Ending (1:57)