June 14, 2023
Photo: Susumu Miyawaki

Marty Friedman has revealed the official video for Shukumei, taken from Tokyo Jukebox 3  which is out now via The Players Club / Mascot Label Group. You can watch the video below.

Talking about the video Friedman says, “When I saw the girl group Perfume dancing to the ultra-progressive odd time signatures in their song Polyrhythm live at the Budokan, it was one of the weirdest and most exciting combinations I had even seen,. With that feeling in mind, I decided to combine girls dancing to Shukumei, a song with some of the mast bizarre and progressive guitar work on Tokyo Jukebox 3. It`s definitely in my personality to take the risk of confusing fans of guitar and fans of dance music, to try to bring some fun and life into what otherwise might be portrayed as a guitar showcase.”

Released in 2021, the record is the third in a series that began with Tokyo Jukebox in 2009, and then Tokyo Jukebox 2 following in 2011.  The trilogy presents Friedman‘s inspired performances to Japanese repertoire he’s chosen to cover.  Friedman included The Perfect World, which he wrote, recorded and originally released in 2018. This is the only track on the album with vocals.  He reflects, “Back then I did the song with Jean-Ken Johnny from Man With A Mission on vocals, and that was used as the main theme for the Netflix series B: The Beginning. On the day of release, the song went straight to the top of the Japanese iTunes chart.” This recording is a new, fresh interpretation with Alfakyun, one of Japan’s premier female J-Pop singers performing the vocals. As Friedman offers, “It’s really a self-cover, so it fits in with the idea of this being a covers album.” 

Friedman also included Japan Heritage Theme Song, another of his own compositions on which he worked with the Tokyo Philharmonic orchestra. On Jukebox 3, Friedman takes J-Pop hits and offers his own charismatic interpretations of contemporary repertoire that includes LiSA‘s Gurenge and Official Hige Dandism‘s Shukumei, alongside Da Pump‘s dance track U.S.A., Sekai No Owari‘s ballad Sazanka, and the vocaloid hit Senbonzakura. Japanese old school standards, Zard‘s Makenaide and Every Little Things‘s Time Goes By are also given Marty`s modern overhaul to round out the album’s track list to cover the full scope of his take on the Japanese music scene.  

The latest incarnation of Marty Friedman`s long-selling signature model guitar, Jackson`s MF-1, will be released this month. It is a brand-new Purple Cracked Mirror model, with a stunning design and ultramodern construction.  For more information click here.

Tokyo Jukebox 3

  1. 1. Makenaide
  2. Senbonzakura
  3. Gurenge
  4. Kaze Ga Fuiteiru
  5. Echo
  6. The Perfect World (ft. Alfakyun)
  7. U.S.A.
  8. Shukumei
  9. Ikuze Kaitou-Shoujo
  10. Sazanka
  11. Time Goes By
  12. Japan Heritage Official Theme Song


Marty Friedman`s presence in the world of music, the world of guitar, and Japanese pop culture is mystifying, bizarre, and nothing short of inspiring.  Born in Washington D.C., Friedman first gained attention with the band Cacophony, which he founded with equally enigmatic and now legendary guitarist, Jason Becker. They released two highly acclaimed albums and then he was recruited by Megadeth in 1990, appearing over the next decade on some of the most influential metal albums of all time. His breath-taking range and distinctly unorthodox musical contributions to Rust In Peace, Countdown To Extinction and all Megadeth multi-platinum albums (Youthanasia, Cryptic Writings, Hidden Treasures and Risk) and world tours until his departure in 2000 made him an icon, as well as helped propel Megadeth to its peak.  Over the next two decades, Friedman‘s contributions to music are nothing short of prolific.
Since 2003, Friedman has lived in Tokyo where he has become a household name, even beyond the world of music. He’s appeared on over 700 Japanese TV shows of every variety, as well as motion pictures and commercials. He was also recently appointed an Ambassador of Japan Heritage by the Japanese Government. At the same time, he continued releasing his solo albums and touring them worldwide.