April 27, 2021

The hard rock band Maverick was formed in 2012 in Belfast, Northern Ireland by the Balfour brothers with David supplying vocals and Ryan on guitar. They have previously released three fine and well received rock albums which have helped increase the band’s exposure and led to European tours with The Poodles and Treat and numerous festivals where their all action, high octane delivery marked them out as a great, good time rock band.

There has been several changes in personnel over the years with the band currently featuring Ric Cardwell on guitar, Richie Diver on bass and Jason-Steve Mageney on drums alongside the two Balfour brothers. Ethereality is yet another of those delayed albums on which work started in 2019 only to be halted due to COVID but, finally, it is now available and set to continue the good work that the band started back in 2012. The band delivers hard, fast, fresh and energetic hard rock in the same way as bands like Thunder, Strangeways, Gun and Little Angels have consistently done over the years. It isn’t overly complicated or pretentious, just straight forward rock songs delivered with a thunderous beat, wonderful hooks and gloriously joyful musicianship.

David Balfour has a great voice somewhere between Toby Jepson and Danny Bowes and gives the band a real edge whilst the two guitarists lay down loads of inspiring riffs and uplifting lead breaks. This is one of those albums that you slip into the CD player just as you start a long journey and the miles simply melt away as you become engrossed in superbly delivered hard rock, this is not an album that takes a while to become accustomed to as it is immediate, incessant and great fun.

Maverick is a brilliant band and Ethereality is a real gem of an album with superb songs and wonderful levels of musicianship which is exactly what we have come to expect from them.

Ethereality track list

  1. Falling (3:58)
  2. Thirst (3:40)
  3. Never (3:46)
  4. Switchblade Sister (3:45)
  5. Bells Of Stygian (3:48)
  6. Angels 6 (3:36)
  7. The Last One (3:46)
  8. Dying Star (3:39)
  9. Light Behind Your Eyes (3:51)
  10. Ares (4:18)