May 26, 2021

Mayank is a new melodic rock band centred around Brazilian vocalist Gui Oliver, who is joined by guitarist Rolf Nordström (Perfect Plan), keyboardist/producer Alessandro Del Vecchio and drummer Nicholas Papapicco. Their self-titled debut album is out on 6th August via Frontiers Music Srl.

“I was really inspired by the songs Ale [Del Vecchio] sent me for this album and wrote the melodies and lyrics around them,” states Oliver. “The ideas came so naturally, like they were already in both my mind and heart, especially some lyrics that are a kind of redemption to me. My musical background is classic bands like Strangeways, Giant, FM, Signal, Survivor and Journey and I think you can hear that in these songs.”

As for the record’s first single, ‘Destiny Calling’, he adds that “it was the last song I recorded for the album. As Ale said to me once, destiny was calling us to make this album together. We needed one more song to complete it and he came up with this great piece of art. I believe this song is about fate and the moment you realise the meaning of your life and how we must be thankful for being here and how it is important to help and support people.”

Frontiers label head Serafino Perugino, who had signed Oliver’s previous band Auras a decade ago, has long admired the singer’s voice and wanted to offer him another platform from which to showcase his skills. Thus, Mayank was born with the intent being to build a group its members on the same wavelength musically that can gel as a seamless unit.

The name Gui Oliver is familiar to connoisseurs of melodic rock, with fans first hearing his soaring vocals via ‘New Generation’, the debut album by Auras. His voice, reminiscent of rock giants such as Steve Perry, Jimi Jamison and Mickey Thomas, immediately put him in the spotlight, but the group disbanded shortly thereafter. Oliver later joined Brazilian melodic hard rockers Landfall, who signed to Frontiers at Del Vecchio’s behest and released a debut album entitled ‘The Turning Point’ in 2020.

A friendship between Del Vecchio and Landfall led to an exchange of musical ideas and plans for the keyboardist/producer and Oliver to make a record together, with the lockdown caused by the global pandemic ironically providing the perfect opportunity to make it happen. A special addition came in the form of Swedish guitarist Rolf Nordström (of Perfect Plan), who joined the fold and provides his excellent fretwork. ‘Mayank’ is the culmination of hard work and the passionate output of a superb team of musicians and songwriters.

Mayank track list

  1. Destiny Calling
  2. Billy Is On The Run
  3. Miracle Mile
  4. We Are One
  5. Long Live The Soulless
  6. Julia’s Smile
  7. Sign Of Love
  8. Hold On
  9. From The Heart
  10. Eternal Dream
  11. Road To Paradise

Gui Oliver – vocals
Rolf Nordstorm – guitars
Alessandro Del Vecchio – bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Nicholas Papapicco – drums