May 6, 2021

UK based alt-rock trio Mercutio are thrilled to announce the release of their new single, Revolution Station, on the 28th May 2021. The single is taken from the bands forthcoming debut UK album, Antagonist, released on the 4th June 2021. The band have also announced themselves as main support on Inglorious UK headline tour in Sept/Oct 2021. The band have this to say about the track: ‘Revolution Station is a mission statement. A call to arms. While the song laments the gentrification of melody in the 21st century it also celebrates the classic rock songs that inspired a generation. Heavy and confrontational in its approach, it seeks to inspire bohemian rock culture whilst throwing a spanner into the over computerised music industry and sticks two middle fingers up at the over-used themes that the music industry perpetuates to this day.

Following the critical and commercially acclaimed release of previous single Slap Bang in July 2020 and second single Playtime in November 2020 , the band released an EP in January 2021. Although Covid has meant the band can’t support these releases with live dates, it has meant they have been able to finalise their debut album. Antagonist is a stunning collection of rock songs – instantly memorable melodies underpinned by driving rhythms. From the hammer blow riffs of album opener Where The Pain Lives to the brooding C Word, from the epic, histrionic Alex to sleazy groove of album closer, and new single, Revolution Station, Antagonist marks Mercutio as one of the most exciting new rocks acts of 2021.

“Antagonist” track-listing below:

  1. Where The Pain Lives
  2. Playtime
  3. Chaos In King
  4. Alex
  5. Slap Bang
  6. Terraferma
  7. C Word
  8. A Part Of Me
  9. Shed Your Skin
  10. The Ghost That Is You
  11. Revolution Station

The band’s track Terraferma is also to be used as the theme tune for the forthcoming 2021 Fireball Extreme Challenge World Cup. The FXC Championship for Clubs 2021 and the FXC World Cup 2021 will take place respectively from May 18 to 20 and May 21 to 23, 2021 in Queretaro, Mexico. 

The band have also been added as main support on the Inglorious UK Tour in 2021. The dates, originally schedule for April/May, are now rescheduled for Sept/Oct 2021 (with existing tickets remaining valid). The band have also added an album launch gig in June.

2019 saw the band welcome new vocalist Ross William Wild. A stunning performer and vocalist, Ross comes with a wealth of experience as a vocalist in both musical theatre and a stint singing with Spandau Ballet in 2017. The band line-up is completed by guitarist and founding member Fabio Staffieri and drummer Francesco Lucidi. Francesco recently starred as the drummer in Elton John’s band in the critically and commercially acclaimed Rocketman film. Mercutio are signed to Independent label Diverge Records run by composer and producer Gianluca Cucchiara and backed by film producer Giovanna Romagnoli (Academy Award for Cinema Paradiso).