March 3, 2021

Messiahvore is a new hard rock band from Denver, Colorado with this being their self-titled debut release. The band came together in 2018 when several veterans of the Colorado rock scene decided to combine their various talents and influences with them all coming from a variety of backgrounds including punk, garage, doom and goth. Put them all together and what you get is a monumental and thoroughly earth shaking hybrid of metal, doom, stoner, industrial and a smattering of hardcore that has to be played loud and most certainly does not take any prisoners.

Bart McCrorey supplies vocals and guitar with Jenn on bass, Bailey Cecil on drums (although he has now been replaced by Brokk Dagaz) and Kevin Disney on guitar. The sound is driven by the big, heavy and intense guitars with riffs that are huge and portentous and all encompassing. The in your face riffs are all delivered with a driving backbeat of bass and drums with deep register and dirty vocals that stop just short of growls but are so integral to the sound that Messiahvore are championing. The music was recorded live in the studio and the vocals and a couple of musical additions dubbed in later and you can tell there is a live vibe about the music with its vitality and kick ass intensity.

It is another short album at only 36 minutes but there is no excess or wasted notes here, the band kicks in and says what it has to and then moves onto the next song, rock can be beautifully simple and still very moving when it is played this way. There is Sabbath riff vibe throughout the album with something of an ambient flavour which may seem at odds with the overall sound but when combined it all works so smoothly and perfectly. All you need to get is a huge system, crank to the max and watch the walls come tumbling down around you, almost a metal soundtrack to the end of the world.

Messiahvore track list

  1. Superstate (4:19)
  2. Betrothed (2:44)
  3. Sleep To Sound (3:01)
  4. Cult Worship (3:50)
  5. Doublecross (5:57)
  6. Blood & Guts (2:43)
  7. Consume You (3:18)
  8. Lightweight (4:29)
  9. The Last Word (5:08)