March 26, 2023

Michael Thompson Band are back with a new album, The Love Goes On, which is set for release on 12th May. Its title track is available now.

While a new MTB album is always cause for celebration among fans of AOR, The Love Goes On is especially exciting as it sees the return of original vocalist Moon Calhoun (The Strand, Moon Over Paris, Western Front ft. Scott Gorham of Thin Lizzy) to the fold. Calhoun sang on the band’s 1989 debut album, How Long, which is generally regarded as one of the all-time great West Coast AOR records.

Calhoun, Thompson and bassist Tom Croucier (ex-Life By Night, brother of Ratt’s Juan) have co-written all eleven new songs, delivering yet another high quality MTB offering. Drummer Annas Aliaf completes the group line-up.

Thompson is considered one of the world’s leading guitarists and was awarded the Distinguished Alumni honour from Berklee College of Music to commemorate his contributions to the music industry. His former college noted that “he is widely regarded as being among the elite studio session players, with an amazing list of credits that includes prominent names such as Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston, Celine Dion, ‘N Sync, Toni Braxton, Phil Collins, Rod Stewart, Scorpions, Vince Neil, Christina Aguilera, Michael Bolton, Mariah Carey, Bette Midler, Madonna, Babyface, En Vogue, Gloria Estefan, Stanley Clarke and Ricky Martin.”

Originally from New York, Thompson moved to Los Angeles in 1979 and became a session musician. He eventually signed to Geffen to release How Long, which featured a plethora of guest musical and songwriting luminaries. He began working with Frontiers in 2007, commencing with a reissue of that MTB debut, followed by Future Past (2012), Love & Beyond (2019) and High Times – Live In Italy (2020).

The Love Goes On

  1. The Love Goes On
  2. Whispers And Dreams
  3. War Of The Hearts
  4. In Your Arms
  5. All Of It
  6. Just What It Takes
  7. My Forever June
  8. Higher
  9. Out Of Nowhere
  10. What Keeps You Alive
  11. A Picture Of You
  12. Wheelchair (bonus track)

Moon Calhoun – vocals
Michael Thompson – guitars
Tom Croucier – bass
Annas Allaf – drums