September 28, 2021

Midnite City is a melodic rock band from the UK with Itch You Can’t Scratch being the third album to date which is rather prolific given that the band was only founded in 2017. They have that classic hair metal sound that took the world by storm in the ’80s with the band taking the music and almost re-inventing it for the modern generation. Everything that you love about hair metal is here with the band sounding and looking as though they have spent the last 40 year or so with Cinderella, Motley Crüe and Slip Of The Tongue era Whitesnake.

These guys can most definitely play too with Rob Wylde on vocals, Miles Meakin on lead guitar, Josh Williams on bass, Shawn Charvette on keyboards and Pete Newdeck on drums and they combine to make a perfectly balanced team with a fluid and most melodic delivery. The band goes for a British rock sensibility rather than pushing the sleaze/glam side of hair metal and so you get the power, skill and song writing skills of Inglorious, Black Star Riders, Thunder and Ten all rolled into one neat and very well rehearsed package.

Itch You Can’t Scratch is a mighty fine heavy but super slick rock album that mixes straight forward rock with the radio friendly appeal of AOR and all built on a melodic and harmonious framework. Rob Wylde is a treasure on vocals with a wonderful and expressive delivery built on some great keyboard work and simply stunning guitar. This is an album for just about any occasion i.e. in the car, at a party or just on your own as it contains just about everything that you want from a traditional, old school hard rock album.

Itch You Can’t Scratch track list

  1. Crawlin’ In The Dirt (3:55)
  2. Atomic (3:50)
  3. Fire Inside (5:20)
  4. Darkest Before The Dawn (3:39)
  5. I Don’t Need Another Heartache (4:22)
  6. Blame It On Your Lovin’ (4:11)
  7. They Only Come Out At Night (4:27)
  8. Chance Of A Lifetime (3:51)
  9. If It’s Over (4:52)
  10. Fall To Pieces (3:49)