June 18, 2021

Nergard is a project that the Norwegian musician Andreas Nergård began in 2010 with the aim for it to be a studio based vehicle fronted by guest musicians from around the world. There have been two albums so far with Memorial For A Wish in 2013 and A Bit Closer To Heaven in 2015 which was then subsequently re-recorded with the new version coming out in 2018. Nergård brought in some renowned musicians for these two albums which included Elize Ryd, Ralf Scheepers, Göran Edman, Mike Vescera, Michelle Luppi, Tony Mills, David Reece, Michael Eriksen, Nils K. Rue and a host of others. Somehow, this project has passed me by and I will find time to go back to these albums based on the superior symphonic metal that makes up the new and rather thrilling third album, Eternal White. Incidentally, the record was delayed due to Andreas Nergård being busy with projects but I have to applaud the man because he marked the return of the band in 2010 with the single Under Fire, a cover of the old Shy song and a tribute to the late, great vocalist Tony Mills (Shy/TNT) which is a nice touch and a fine reminder of an exceptional vocalist no longer with us.

Eternal White is an epic album featuring exceptional musicians and vocalists with stunning orchestration and a concept that is immense. The album tells the true story of what is known as the Carolean Death March in 1719 when 3000 Swedish and Finnish soldiers froze to death during the retreat following a failed invasion of Norway; such an epic tales deserve and demand an equally epic score and on this Nergard delivers impeccably. For sure, if you are into Nightwish, Within Temptation and Ayreon then this is going to be the perfect album for you and it is also a truly bombastic power metal album too so there are elements of the mighty Kamelot making the sound truly special. There are three main singers involved in the project with Stefani Keogh (UK), Andi Kravljaca (Sweden) and Mathias Molund Indergård (Norway) all combining perfectly and the interaction between the three also gives this work something of a rock opera feel too. There is also a special bonus with the addition of the soaring voice of Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens on the track Now Barley Three which is another stand out moment in an album of sensation symphonic metal.

If you like your symphonic metal to be epic and grand (actually is there another way?) then this thoroughly entertaining and huge album provides everything hat you want and more.

Eternal White track list

  1. God Forgive My Haunted Mind (6:59)
  2. Pride Of The North (4:45)
  3. From The Cradle To The Grave (4:09)
  4. Carry Me (4:25)
  5. Beneath Northern Skies (4:57)
  6. Where No One Would Shed A Tear (3:09)
  7. Downfall (5:44)
  8. Now Barely Three (4:09)
  9. Eternal White (4:50)
  10. Erasing the Memories (7:08)