September 20, 2019

Strigoi is the name of a new band, created by Paradise Lost guitarist Gregor Mackintosh, after the demise of Vallenfyre (a crust/ doom metal project, with three albums released between 2011 and 2017).

Strigoi will release their debut album Abandon All Faith, on November 22nd via Nuclear Blast.

Named after the troubled spirits in Romanian mythology who could rise from the grave and assume an entirely different form, the lineup lineup is rounded out by former Extreme Noise Terror and Vallenfyre bass player Chris Casket. Drums in the studio have been performed by Paradise Lost drummer Waltteri Väyrynen.

“With Vallenfyre, we went down this path where it got more and more crusty,” Greg Mackintosh explains. “I thought we couldn’t take it any further, so I needed to put in some new elements. With Strigoi, there’s a bit of spookiness, even some subtle elements of industrial and even black metal. The goal was to switch it up a bit. I was perfectly content with what I was doing in Vallenfyre, but for Strigoi to stand on its own, I wanted to try new things to separate ourselves from the pack.” 

Today, the band reveals the album track list and the official video for Phantoms, shot, directed and produced by Ash Pears.

Full tracklist:

1. The Rising Horde

2. Phantoms

3. Nocturnal Vermin

4. Seven Crowns

5. Throne Of Disgrace

6. Carved Into The Skin

7. Parasite

8. Iniquitous Rage

9. Plague Nation

10. Enemies Of God

11. Scorn Of The Father

12. Abandon All Faith