May 9, 2022

Nocturna is a new Italian Gothic/Symphonic metal band put together by the songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Federico Mondelli (Frozen Crown, Volturian, Be The Wolf) and the vocalists Grace Darkling and Rehn Stillnight. For some reason, Mondelli is credited on the album as Hedon and supplies the guitar work as well as the sublime piano throughout even though keyboards are not mentioned on the accompanying publicity. Following on with the use of a single name only are Antares on bass and Deimon on drums and the three musicians appear to use masks to cover their features which may be to enforce the dark, gothic nature of the music or to focus the attention on the two female singers. However, it appears that the band is also inspired by Japanese Kabuki theatre where identities are usually covered by extreme makeup.

The sound of the band very much follows the genre associated with the likes of Nightwish, Epica, Within Temptation, Sirenia plus any other Gothic/Symphonic band you can think of and, for a debut, Nocturna has pretty much nailed the core sound and feel of the dark and grandiose genre. Mondelli (aka Hedon) lays down some truly crushing riffs that drives the exciting music forward with the associated powerful bass and drums never letting the pace slacken over which Darkling and Stillnight truly thrill with the exotic combination of their differing voices with Stillnight being the operatic one with Darkling being more conventional metal. Individually, they are both great singers but together they are pure dynamite.

The songs are all well written with an instant attraction with the singers putting everything they have into their delivery making the sound emotional, dark yet ultimately uplifting. The lead guitar breaks soar and sizzle but it is the vocals that captivate and linger in the memory. Daughters Of The Night is an accomplished and confident debut from a band we are sure to hear much more from.

Daughters Of The Night

  1. Spectral Ruins (1:54)
  2. New Evil (4:25)
  3. Daughters Of The Night (3:55)
  4. The Sorrow Path (4:02
  5. Sea Of Fire (3:39)
  6. Blood Of Heaven (3:17)
  7. In This Tragedy (6:03)
  8. Darkest Days (3:35)
  9. Nocturnal Whispers (1:12)
  10. The Trickster (4:45)