September 5, 2019

Quarter of a century after their inception, black metallers Ragnarok announce the release of their new album “Non Debellicata”, which will come out on November 15th through Agonia Records.

The band gives us an insight into what went into the making of the album in which the entire line-up of founder and frontman Jontho, guitarist Bolverk, bassist Rammr and drummer Malignant, had a significant input:

“Our new album, Non Debellicata, is the result of an extensive process in which all the members of the band participated creatively, both musically and lyrically.  We put a lot of work into this album to make it as extreme and violent as we possibly could, pushing the borders of our musicianship and song writing skills. Originally we started out with 20 songs, out of which we rehearsed 16 and whittled it down to 13 for recording. We eventually chose 10 for inclusion on the album, because we wanted to ensure highest possible quality of every song”. 

As for the title itself:

“Non Debellicata, refers to a phrase used as the motto for our home town Saropsborg in the olden days. It is taken from letter Jarl Alv Erlingsson sent to the Scottish Government in 1286. Aside from being a nobleman and the Jarl (Earl) of Sarpsborg, Alv was also an infamous pirate who was in the habit of robbing Danish and German merchant ships”.

“The Scottish government had confiscated a number of Norwegian ships and Jarl Alv wrote them a letter, in which he said that maybe they were under the impression that Norway was weak after being at war for several years. But assured them that they would learn that the Norwegian people were not weakened by the war and would never be defeated”.

“Non Debellicata. The people of Norway would never give up – and neither will Ragnarok!”.

“Non Debellicata” was recorded in Sweden’s Endarker Studio, with Marduk’s Devo at the helm, and with artwork by Nestor Avalos and photos by Arash Taheri.


1. Non Debellicata

2. Chapel of Shadows

3. Sanctimoneous

4. Bestial Emptiness

5. Nemesis

6. The Great Destroyer

7. Gerasene Demoniac

8. The Gospel of Judas Iscariot

9. Jonestown Lullaby

10.  Asphyxiation

To celebrate the album’s release, Ragnarok are set to support US death metallers Immolation on a 21-date European tour, “The Last Atonement”, in November of 2019. Accompanying them on the tour will be Austria’s Monument Of Misanthropy and Italy’s Embryo.


07.11. (GER) Munster / Sputnikhalle

08.11. (HOL) Amersfoort / Flour033

09.11. (HOL) Tilburg / de Nieuwe Vorst

10.11. (HOL) Enschede / Metropool

13.11. (ITA) Milan / Slaughter Club

14.11. (ITA) Rome / Traffic

15.11. (ITA) San Dova di Piave / Revolver

16.11. (CH) Sion / Le Port Franc

17.11. (GER) Trier / Mergener Hof

18.11. (FR) Niort / Camji

19.11. (FR) Paris / Backstage

21.11. (UK) Manchester / Rebellion

22.11. (UK) London / The Dome

23.11. (HOL) Rotterdam / Baroeg

24.11. (BEL) Namur / Belvedere

26.11. (GER) Munich / Backstage

27.11. (CZ) Praga / Nova Chmelnice

28.11. (POL) Bielsko Biała / Rudeboy

29.11. (POL) Łódź / Magnetofon

30.11. (GER) Berlin / Lido

01.12. (POL) Poznań / U Bazyla