June 26, 2023

The debut album of prog rock/metal supergroup OBLIVION PROTOCOL — led by THRESHOLD keyboard player and songwriter Richard West — The Fall Of The Shires, will hit the shelves on August 18, 2023 through Atomic Fire Records. After introducing themselves in the form of first digital single, Forests In The Fallout last month, the quartet have unveiled another part of the upcoming musical saga. Chapter no. 4, This Is Not A Test, is accompanied by the group’s very first music video, which was produced by well-known director Patric Ullaeus. It’s also a premiere for OBLIVION PROTOCOL since its shooting finally made all four musicians meet in person at the same time. The result can now be viewed over on YouTube!

Richard comments: “This Is Not A Test is a song about finding out you’ve been conned. We had a great time filming the video last month at rEvolver Studios in Gothenburg [IN FLAMES, EUROPE]. Although most of us already knew each other, it was the first time we’d all met up as a group. Fortunately we got on like a house on fire!”

The Fall Of The Shires

  1. The Fall (Part 1)
  2. Tormented
  3. Public Safety Broadcast
  4. This Is Not a Test
  5. Storm Warning
  6. Vertigo
  7. Forests In The Fallout
  8. The Fall (Part 2)

The record was written as a sequel to THRESHOLD‘s 2017 concept album Legends Of The Shires, and delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between RUSHSTEVEN WILSONThe Dark Side Of The Moon-era PINK FLOYD and hard rock masters GHOST, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first instalment.

The album cover — designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of THRESHOLD‘s classic covers such as Hypothetical and Subsurface — depicts the downfall of the world shown on Legends Of The Shires.

OBLIVION PROTOCOL‘s line-up is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (WITHIN TEMPTATION), bassist Simon Andersson (DARKWATER) and drummer Darby Todd (DEVIN TOWNSEND). Last but not least THRESHOLD‘s Karl Groom has also contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

Richard West | vocals, keyboards
Ruud Jolie | guitars
Simon Andersson | bass
Darby Todd | drums


Official Website