July 25, 2023

The highly anticipated first album release of prog rock/metallers OBLIVION PROTOCOL — a supergroup founded by THRESHOLD keyboard player and songwriter Richard West — The Fall Of The Shires, is less than one month away: The record is due out on August 18, 2023 via Atomic Fire Records. Once again created by Ingo Spörl at Hard Media, the band have unveiled a lyric video for the third digital single of the album, The Fall (Part 1). Shorten your personal wait and check out the song below.

Richard explains: “This was the first song I wrote for The Fall Of The Shires and was originally intended for THRESHOLD. You’ll notice that it has a strong melodic connection to the opening song from Legends Of The Shires and also features a beautiful guest solo by THRESHOLD‘s Karl Groom.”

The Fall Of The Shires

  1. The Fall (Part 1)
  2. Tormented
  3. Public Safety Broadcast
  4. This Is Not a Test
  5. Storm Warning
  6. Vertigo
  7. Forests In The Fallout
  8. The Fall (Part 2)


  • CD-digipak
  • 1LP in gatefold (green)
  • digital

The record was written as a sequel to THRESHOLD‘s 2017 concept album Legends Of The Shires, and delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between RUSHSTEVEN WILSONThe Dark Side Of The Moon-era PINK FLOYD and hard rock masters GHOST, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first instalment.

The album cover — designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of THRESHOLD‘s classic covers such as Hypothetical and Subsurface — depicts the downfall of the world shown on Legends Of The Shires.

OBLIVION PROTOCOL‘s line-up is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (WITHIN TEMPTATION), bassist Simon Andersson (DARKWATER) and drummer Darby Todd (DEVIN TOWNSEND). Last but not least THRESHOLD‘s Karl Groom has also contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

Richard West | vocals, keyboards
Ruud Jolie | guitars
Simon Andersson | bass
Darby Todd | drums


Official Website