December 23, 2020

One-man melodic post-hardcore band One-man melodic post-hardcore band THESE COLORS FADE will release new album Contemporary Tragedy on January 29, 2021

The brainchild of multi-instrumentalist Keelan Donahue, who handled everything from the music to the artwork, Contemporary Tragedy is the third release from THESE COLORS FADE. The album follows the 2020 EP Pentamerous Laceration and the debut full-length The Attrition Complex (2018). Keelan’s newest effort takes the listener on a 10-track journey that blurs the lines between progressive metal, avante garde and abstract thought.

Keelan comments on the album, “Contemporary Tragedy is about loss and how it transforms people in different ways. It was originally intended to be a short story told in album form. Instead, it became a theme album touching on not only loss, but what a person can become after losing what they believe to be everything. A combination of progressive and post-hardcore births interesting and unique musicianship while pushing genre boundaries. Over 800 hours were spent writing and recording this album.

Contemporary Tragedy was written, performed, recorded, edited, mixed and mastered by Keelan Donahue.

THESE COLORS FADE was founded in August of 2016 as a medium for Keelan to write and record music during his downtime as a musician. Early THESE COLORS FADE consisted of him singing while playing keyboard. It has since evolved into implementing guitar, bass, and drums for a “full band feel” as well as shifting genres from acoustic to metal.

Contemporary Tragedy track list

  1. Contemporary Tragedy I: Our Final Breaths
  2. Contemporary Tragedy II: Wax Reveries 
  3. Contemporary Tragedy III: Curtains Close
  4. Clar(it)y
  5. Beginning//End
  6. A Cerulean Tomb 
  7. The Art Of Burning A Memory 
  8. Of Salvation And Damnation 
  9. Disappear
  10. Contemporary Tragedy IV: Alternate Reveries 


Keelan Donahue: Vocals, lyrics, guitar, bass, drums, and keyboards. Album artwork by Keelan Donahue