June 16, 2024

The more discerning rock fan will perhaps know the name of Oz Hawe Petersson for his work with the Swedish AOR band Osukaro and this most distinguished guitarist has now joined forces again with fellow Swede Mathias Rosén who he first worked with in the rock band Eye with this being their first release under the Rendezvous banner.

They have brought in a host of guests to help them produce this killer AOR album that is a neat combination of Whitesnake, Heart and Europe and thrills on so many levels. They mix and match the guests throughout the album with a variety of excellent vocalists in Osukaru singer Fredrik Werner who leads on three songs with Boulevard singer David Forbes, ex-Iconic Eye vocalist Jane Gould and solo artist Chris Rosander all appearing on two songs apiece. They all have classic AOR voices with special praise to Jane Gould who brings the Heart influence to the band’s sound. There are numerous backing musicians too yet there is a consistent sound and feel throughout the work with Petersson tightly controlling the direction throughout.

The album is relatively short at only 35-minutes but high on quality which is the only important statistic here as this is a quite sublime melodic rock release with great compositions, wonderful singers with some neat harmonies throughout and outstanding musicianship with lush keys from Rosén and simply stunning guitar from Petersson.

Highly recommended.

Oz Hawe Petersson’s Rendezvous

  1. Tuning In (0:53)
  2. Sacred Land (3:12)
  3. As We Cry (3:56)
  4. These Tears (4:06)
  5. Midnight Lady (Dangerous Game) (3:09)
  6. Fool’s Gold (3:06)
  7. This Time Around (3:34)
  8. The Essence of Love (3:30)
  9. All Roads Lead Back To You (5:03)
  10. Never Be (4:26)