September 4, 2022

What does worldwide quarantine do to our favourite porcine libertine? Raymond Watts holed up in his sty and created The Merciless Light, the new album by PIG. Ably aided and abetted by long time accomplices En Esch and Steve White, Watts also welcomes a new swine to the trough as Jim Davies (Pitchshifter/The Prodigy) adds another new level of impeccable (in)credibility and talent.

The Merciless Light seethes, swings, seduces and snarls. Extraordinary electronics and a glut of glitz, glam, guitars and grooves create a masterful mélange of mirth, malice and winking wit from our very own venerable Vicar of Vice.

A stellar sample comes in the form of the snazzy The Dark Room, which clocks in at exactly three minutes and delivers a massive knockout punch with mercifully no paunch. A video for the song directed by LA based Ibex is available now.

Four further tasty morsels from the album can be consumed in the form of video snippets (see below), while album opener No Yes More Less has also been released as a single ahead of the main course being served on 23rd September.

The Merciless Light

  1. No Yes More Less
  2. Veni Vidi Vici
  3. Feed The Wound
  4. Speak Of Sin
  5. Limbo
  6. Glitz Krieg
  7. Sugar My Pill
  8. The Dark Room
  9. The Merciless Light
  10. Tarantula
  11. Obliteration Liberation
  12. The Judas Chair

Raymond Watts aka PIG has enjoyed a varied career since starting out as a pioneer member of the mid-1980’s industrial rock scene. He has toured with KMFDM (he was a member of the band in their early days), Nine Inch Nails and Einstürzende Neubauten, written music for fashion and film for Chloe, Marios Schwab, Halston, The Row, as well as creating the sound design for the exhibition Punk: Chaos to Couture at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. He also collaborated with the late fashion icon Alexander McQueen, who commissioned Watts (with John Gosling) to embellish the serene instrumental track Inside (from the PIG album Genuine American Monster album) for the soundtrack to Plato’s Atlantis. The show was reprised after McQueen‘s untimely death as the finale of Savage Beauty, the posthumous retrospective that broke all records at both The Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Victoria & Albert Museum.

The most recent full-length PIG studio album, Pain Is God, was released in 2020, with Metal Hammer magazine noting its “sly nods to pop and catchy melodies contrasting perfectly with Rammstein-esque purges and Mr Bungle-style jazz-isms.”

PIG photography by E Gabriel Edvy

Raymond Watts <> Jim Davies <> Steve White <> En Esch
Michelle Martinez, Mike Watts, Enrico Tomasso
and the PIG Choir
Abbie Aisleen, Jim Davies, En Esch, Marc Heal,
Jimmy Livingstone, Mona Mur, Mike Watts

PIG online:

Official Website

Metropolis Records