January 4, 2021

I remember reviewing the Project Alcazar album Reason For A Decade which came out around 2006 but I seem to think the album didn’t make it to my former publication, The Classic Rock Society until around 2008 and I recall it being a rather splendid classics inspired guitar driven instrumental work with some pretty impressive guitar by Chris Steberl.

The review is probably lost in time but I would imagine that I would have mentioned the addition of a vocalist would have improved the album. That was it for Project Alcazar until the download for Lost In Centralia landed on my computer. There are just the three musicians involved with the extremely talented Chris Steberl on guitars and bass, Caleb Hutslar on keyboards and Mark Zonder on drums. It seems that American Steberl started playing the guitar at the age of 8 and then he heard Eruption by Van Halen which led to further discoveries of Yngwie Malmsteen, Richie Kotzen, Paul Gilbert and Tony MacAlpine and the desire to become a shredder was born. Lost In Centralia shows three first rate musicians playing very technical progressive metal instrumentals with perfect guitar and keyboard interplay. Oh boy, can these guys play as they drawn you into their world of technical virtuosity.

The eight tracks are mainly in the 5 to 6 minute range which allows for lots of progression and chord changes as they bombard you with a barrage of progressive metal perfection very similar to the works of people like Joe Satriani and Steve Vai and there is a most definite Dream Theater flavour to the whole album. Again, my preference would be for a vocalist to add a little more flavour to the mix but this is still an excellent progressive metal album even without a singer. There is much here to savour and enjoy and you will most certainly appreciate the technical complexity and the genius of the playing.

Lost In Centralia shows a band in peak form producing an instrumental prog metal extravaganza of epic proportions with guitars aplenty and stunning keyboards runs too.

Lost In Centralia track list

  1. Lost in Centralia (5:53)
  2. Occam’s Razor (4:14)
  3. The Panic Hand (6:54)
  4. Stranger Ave (6:03)
  5. 55 Ludivico (5:38)
  6. Beneath A Scarlet Sky (6:38)
  7. Looking Glass (6:47)
  8. Water Music (4:54)