June 17, 2020

Restive Nation is an alternative rock band from Dublin in Ireland and specialises in a delicious electronic cross-over that produces a huge, epic and all encompassing sound. They are a seven-piece which allows them to create a monumental sound full of complex and intricate rhythms that draws you into their magical world of delight and wonder.

It seems that the band formed in 2014 after they witnessed a Nine Inch Nails concert, and this inspired them to create a band that built on elements of indie, prog and electro that has developed into something so unique and different. Indeed, the closest band to them in sound and substance that I can think of is the imperious Crippled Black Phoenix, yes they are that good. Originally a three-piece but now expanded, they feature the sublime talents of Chris Cahill (production & sound design, guitar, vocals), Ciaran Timmy Lynch (bass), Ben Thonett (synth), Cion O’Callaghan (drums), Tony Carberry (vocals), Neal Pawney Bond (vocals) and John Atmahead (vocals) and the pleasing combination of singers gives the band greater scope and an added depth and emotion. The band biography mentions influences including Depeche Mode, Tool, Massive Attack, Nine Inch Nails, A Perfect Circle and Steven Wilson – which I would not necessarily agree with, but I see their point given the complexity behind the music and the various sources that have influenced them as musicians. For me though, they sit more comfortably under the progressive rock banner and they are actually progressing from their alt-rock roots so the name fits whichever way you use it.

Check them out, you will not be disappointed.

Luidicum EP track listing

  1. Tapetum (2:21)
  2. Coma (3:13)
  3. The Prouder Ones (4:29)
  4. Hectic Head (If You Die On Me…) (4:05)
  5. Descent (4:06)