July 18, 2021

Is it really five years since The Resurrection Kings released their incredible eponymous debut album, a real heavy metal extravaganza that was a pure delight? Initially seen as a project but, thankfully, we now have the band’s second release which seamlessly picks up where the debut finished and it is almost as if time has stood still for these two separate but truly linked albums. The debut featured some amazing talent in vocalist Chas West (Bonham/Tribe Of Gypsies/Foreigner, guitarist Craig Goldy (Dio), bass player Sean McNabb (Lynch Mob/Dokken/Quiet Riot) and drummer Vinny Appice (Dio/Black Sabbath) with keyboards and production duties handled by Alessandro Del Vecchio which is a role he performs for so many bands and projects. They revelled and delighted in a sound derived from the British and American giants in Whitesnake, Rainbow, Dio and Deep Purple and served up a real feast of classic heavy rock that spanned fifty years of metal.

The has been a small change in the band for Stargazer, great album cover by the way, with Sean McNabb leaving with bass duties handled by Craig Goldy and Del Vecchio and these two also play the keyboard parts. As expected, Craig Goldy is on fire as befits a master of the guitar and his solos are stunning and key to the core sound of the Resurrections Kings. Whether supplying huge riffs or blistering lead breaks he is behind all that is good about this hard rock/metal album and you really should search out everything with his name upon it! Chas West has a great voice for metal being somewhere between Dio, Graham Bonnet and Rob Halford and is another artist with real stature and he commands your full attention throughout. Then there is Vinnie Appice and what more can be said about this incredible phenomenon, a man truly blessed and responsible as the powerhouse for some truly great albums; look through his back catalogue and prepare to be amazed. Of course, Alessandro Del Vecchio does what he always does with his brilliant keyboard runs which are also integral to the band’s sound.

If you are looking for a new album that builds heavily upon that ‘classic, old school’ sound then look no further as this is music built in the past and perfected for the future. Lots of vocal harmonies and an underlying delightful melody throughout help make the album a heavy metal album that remains accessible to all and that is no easy trick. You only need look at the names involved to know that this album is a sure fire winner and how can you not fall for an album so heavily inspired by the late, great Ronnie James Dio?

Skygazer track list

  1. Skygazer (5:35)
  2. World’s On Fire (3:31)
  3. Tears (3:14)
  4. Fight Against Our Pride (4:10)
  5. Angry Demons (5:27)
  6. Savior Of Souls (5:05)
  7. Don’t Blame Our Love (5:00)
  8. Is This The End (3:49)
  9. Troubled Soul (4:23)
  10. Set Me On Fire (4:04)
  11. Calling All Angels (4:22)