July 11, 2021

A band we all know and most certainly should love is Rhapsody Of Fire; true giants of symphonic metal regardless of which version of the band you refer to. This band has added so much to the power/symphonic world and has taken the word bombastic to a whole new level and they are now the measure by which all others are to be judged. The band released the quite wonderful The Eighth Mountain in 2019 and it was a privilege to see them on the subsequent tour in Sheffield where they not only fulfilled but exceeded by far my expectations; what a band and what an experience they are live. This is a band that delights in tales of myths, sagas and legend with The Eighth Mountain being the start of a new three part concept called the Nephlins Empire Saga and if you haven’t heard the album yet then you really should do as it is immense metal that will last an eternity. The band is currently working on part two of the trilogy and has now released this mighty fine EP as an interim measure and the band has been super generous with an EP which has a running time of forty minutes and really whets the appetite for the new album.

There has been a slight change in the band with Giacomo Voli on vocals, Alex Strapoli on keyboards, Roby De Micheli on guitar, Alessandro Sala on bass now joined by Paolo Marchesich who joined last year and welcome to the team. As usual, the EP shows the band at its best as they excel with panache as we are treated to another technical, symphonic and anthemic delight with huge choruses, searing guitar and huge vocals with Giacomo Voli being as good if not better than just about any other singer on the planet.

The EP kicks off with the new single version of I’ll Be your Hero which features the usual soaring vocals and immense riffs with the usual symphonic melody that makes the band so endearing, can’t wait to hear the full version of the song. This is followed by a re-recorded version of Where The Dragons Fly which was originally a bonus track for the Japanese market and sees the band experimenting with folk metal and then there are the two live tracks, Rain Of Fury and The Courage To Forgive which were both recorded on the Eighth Mountain tour and show just why this band is such a vital live act. Next up is the epic and burning The Wind The Rain And The Moon, again from The Eighth Mountain, which shows another facet of the band and contains so much emotion that the air almost crackles with static electricity. The band then follows this with a further three previously unreleased versions of the same song but these have the¬†Italian, Spanish and French language vocals. Four versions of the same tracks sounds a little like overkill but they all nestle perfectly well together and the different languages really do make a big difference.

There is much to enjoy here as we await the next album which really cannot come too soon!

I’ll Be Your Hero track list

  1. I’ll Be Your Hero (Single Version) (4:12)
  2. Where Dragons Fly (Re-recording) (4:34)
  3. Rain Of Fury (Live) (4:22)
  4. The Courage To Forgive (Live) (5:07)
  5. The Wind, The Rain And The Moon (5:19)
  6. Sin Un Adios (5:19)
  7. Senza Un Addio (5:19)
  8. La Force De Me Battre (5:19)