September 9, 2019

Remember Winter Songs – the holiday-themed solo album by legendary Rob Halford, which came out in 2009? We may forgive you if you don’t, but now it has a spiritual follow-up with Celestial. This new, 12-song collection, credited to Rob Halford with Family & Friends, will come out in October 18th via Legacy Recordings.

Most interesting, probably, is the fact that among the eight classic holiday covers (in a heavy metal arrangement, for sure), the album will include no less than four original recordings. The band that plays in Celestial is Halford’s brother Nigel (drums), his nephew Alex (bass, also son of Priest bassist Ian Hill) his sister Sue (bells) as well as Robert Jones (guitar) and Jon Blakey (guitar).

The Metal God seems more than just excited for the coming holidays: “I think the holidays for any family are a mixture of fun and excitement and apprehension of the whole event. The magic of it more than anything else. It’s just a beautiful time of year – which a lot of us wish would be for every day of the year. It’s a beautiful thing as far as bringing families together. So, what better way to celebrate it than with your family, friends…and music. You must have music at Christmas time.”

You can watch the video to the second song (and one of the originals) – “Donner and Blitzen” and here is the tracklist:

1. “Celestial” [new song]
2. “Donner and Blitzen” [new song]
3. “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
4. “Away in a Manger”
5. “Morning Star” [new song]
6. “Deck the Halls”
7. “Joy to the World”
8. “O Little Town of Bethlehem”
9. “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”
10. “The First Noel”
11. “Good King Wenceslas”
12. “Protected By the Light” [new song]