January 18, 2023

Canadian vocalist Rob Moratti is another of those worthy artists who make the wheels of rock turn but, for the most part, flies under the radar. He has released a number of solo albums under his own name as well as a couple when using Moratti as a band plus four releases with Final Frontiers (another Canadian hard rock band) but most will probably know him for his stint with Saga from 2008 to 2011 and briefly replacing Michael Sadler as the voice on The Human Condition before Sadler returned to the fold. Moratti is one of those golden voiced singers with a great range who brings great clarity and harmony to any project he is involved with and is absolutely perfectly cast for any AOR or melodic rock band or project. This has led Rob to working with the likes of Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, TSO), Reb Beach (Whitesnake, Winger), Tony Franklin (ex-Blue Murder, The Firm), Steve Augeri (ex-Journey) as well as Saga men Brian Doerner and Ian Crichton.

Epical is now his fifth solo album (not including his Tribute to Journey release) and all have been super smooth and slick melodic rock delights with all the usual and expected infectious hooks, stirring choruses and dynamic vocal harmonies. He has brought in a talented team of musicians and songwriters to help bring Epical to life with Joel Hoekstra on lead and rhythm guitar), Tony Franklin on bass, Felix Borg drums plus keyboards on Strangers, Pete Alpenborg on rhythm guitar and keyboards with Fredrik Bergh on keyboards on the track For The Rest Of My Life. In addition, Borg, Bergh and Ulrick Lönnqvist and Steve Augeri contributed to the songwriting process helping to produce a fabulous set of songs which Moratti brings to life in his usual inimitable style.

Epical is a wonderfully smooth easy listening album with Moratti again showing his class and especially listen out for some truly exceptional guitar work from Joel Hoekstra. If you are into bands like Saga, Toto and Styx then this is most definitely an album you need to check out.


  1. Can I Hold You For A While (4:13)
  2. Masquerade (3:40)
  3. Nothing Left To Say (4:02)
  4. Valerie (4:00)
  5. Hold On (3:52)
  6. For The Rest Of My Life (4:32)
  7. Stay The Night (3:34)
  8. Love (4:56)
  9. Crash And Burn (3:37)
  10. You Keep Me Waiting (4:36)
  11. Strangers (4:08)

Epical by Rob Moratti is out now on Frontiers Records