May 9, 2021

The Irish rock singer Robin McAuley is one of those ever dependable vocalists who has consistently delivered throughout his career and always brings a level of professionalism with him plus an incredible set of pipes so you see his name and you know that quality is assured. He made his mark with the McAuley Schenker Group and has regularly appeared with Michael Schenker over the years as well as being the singer with Grand Prix, Far Corporation, GMT and latterly with Black Swan. His only previous solo album, Business As Usual, dates back to 1999 so Standing On The Edge is well and truly long overdue and continues the recent upsurge in his career.

Being with Frontiers has certainly aided McAuley as the prolific Alessandro Del Vecchio has co-written the album along with McAuley and also with former Grand Prix band mate Phil Lanzon (Uriah Heep) on Like A Ghost, Howard Leese (Bad Company, ex-Heart) on Supposed To Do Now and Tommy Denander on Do You Remember and ‘Chosen Few’. Del Vecchio also plays keyboards, bass guitar and adds backing vocals as well as producing the album so he is most certainly a very useful musician to have in your team. The rest of the band is Andrea Seveso on guitar, Nicholas Papapicco on drums with Howard Leese contributing guitar on the track Supposed To Do Now.

As could probably be expected, Standing On The Edge, is a hard melodic rock album that fits very firmly within the Frontiers melodic rock framework so the song are infectious and hook laden with quality performances throughout with the real icing on the cake being McAuley’s performance as he gives it everything he has and infuses a real sense of energy and power into each and every track. Combine this with some delicious guitar from Andrea Seveso and the melodic delivery of Del Vecchio and you have a grand and thoroughly pleasing melodic AOR romp.

This is one of those archetypal albums that are ideal for playing at maximum volume in an open top car on a bright sunny day. Having said that, it’s also pretty damn good for listening to on a cold and wet dismal day; you can always rely on melodic rock to lift your spirits and McAuley does that brilliantly on these very easy listening new album.

Standing On The Edge track list

  1. Thy Will Be Done (3:53)
  2. Standing On The Edge (4:17)
  3. Late December (3:35)
  4. Do You Remember (4:25)
  5. Say Goodbye (4:22)
  6. Chosen Few (4:22)
  7. Run Away (3:42)
  8. Supposed To Do Now (3:27)
  9. Wanna Take A Ride (3:49)
  10. Like A Ghost (4:27)
  11. Running Out Of Time (4:22)