July 4, 2021

Known as the lead vocalist of Swedish hard rock band degreed, Robin Red has announced the September release of his self-titled debut solo album via Frontiers Music Srl. A first single from the record entitled Don’t Leave Me (With A Broken Heart) is available now, of which Red says: “it was originally written by Thomas Jakobsson and Björn Axelsson in the early nineties and the famous Swedish artist Carola Häggkvist sang on the first demo. However, it was never released back then, so I actually have that honour.” Regarding the album as a whole, he adds that “my mindset was to keep it as ‘classic rock’ as possible, haha. Think of it as a 1983 release! I think you will hear a bit of Foreigner, John Waite, Bryan Adams and Rick Springfield in there.”

Red decided to launch a solo career in 2020 and sent some demos to Frontiers, who were thrilled with what they heard. “I’ve been thinking about making a solo album for many years, but I never really felt ready, not until now.” he explains. “It’s kind of a dream come true. I went back to my roots and made it a little more organic. I’m very inspired by artists like Jimmy Barnes and Bryan Adams, and the sound is not far from there but is still me.”

The resulting album is certainly a melodic rock fest with catchy, uptempo songs that will impress fans of artists such as Foreigner, Rick Springfield, Bryan Adams and John Waite. The songs were written by Red together with Dave Dalone of fellow Swedish rockers H.E.A.T., who also produced the album and plays guitars.

Red also remains a member of degreed, of which he was a founder member and has toured all over Europe in support of five well received studio albums. The group is currently working on a new record. He also participated in the Swedish version of American Idol in 2008 and reached the latter stages.

Robin Red track list

  1. Don’t Leave Me (With A Broken Heart)
  2. (I’m A) Bad Habit
  3. Everlyn
  4. Freedom
  5. Midnight Rain
  6. Can’t Get Enough
  7. Reason To Survive
  8. Heart Of Stone
  9. Nitelife
  10. Head Over Heels
  11. Livin’ Dead
  12. Living For

Robin Red – lead vocals, backing vocals & bass
Dave Dalone – guitars, synthesizers, backing vocals and percussion
Mats Eriksson – drums
Erik Modin – percussion
Joan Eriksson – grand piano, background vocals
Jona Tee – organ
Petra Eriksson – background vocals