November 21, 2022

Ronnie Romero has announced the upcoming release of a new album of cover versions entitled Raised On Heavy Radio. Out on 27th January 2023, it is a companion piece to his Raised On Radio collection that was issued in April 2022.

This time around, the renowned Chilean singer pays tribute to legendary metal artists such as Ozzy Osbourne, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Accept, Metallica and more. Guest musicians include Gus G. (Firewind, Ozzy Osbourne), Chris Caffery (Savatage, Spirits Of Fire) and Roland Grapow (Masterplan, Helloween).

A single and video for The Shining, a Black Sabbath cover that features guitarist Chris Caffery, is available now.

Romero‘s voice and prolific musical activity with Lords of Black, The Ferrymen, Sunstorm, Rainbow and the Michael Schenker Group have brought him to the forefront of the hard rock/metal scene in recent years. Via his work fronting these acts, it is easy to see how the artists covered on this album have influenced Romero and understand how his voice is well suited to pay suitable tribute. Ambitious and driven as ever, this album is another special treat for fans while Romero continues work on his debut solo album proper of original songs.

Raised On Radio had featured covers of classic rock and AOR songs by legends such as Survivor, Bad Company, Foreigner, Queen and Led Zeppelin given the Romero treatment, all executed with passion, power and charisma. For this second instalment of covers, Romero showcases his love of the heavy metal for which he is more widely known.

Of course, Romero has also performed killer renditions of numerous rock and metal classics as part of shows when fronting acts like Rainbow and the Michael Schenker Group. He has also covered songs by Journey, Queen, Rainbow and more as part of Spanish metallers Lords Of Black.

Raised On Heavy Radio

  1. The Battle Rages On (Deep Purple)
  2. Metal Daze (Manowar)
  3. Turbo Lover (feat. Nozomu Wakai) (Judas Priest)
  4. Hallowed Be Thy Name (Iron Maiden)
  5. Fast As A Shark (Accept)
  6. No More Tears (feat. Gus G.) (Ozzy Osbourne)
  7. The Shining (feat. Chris Caffery) (Black Sabbath)
  8. A Light In The Black (Rainbow)
  9. Kind Hearted Light (feat. Roland Grapow) (Masterplan)
  10. You Don’t Remember, I’ll Never Forget (Yngwie Malmsteen)
  11. The Four Horsemen (Metallica)
  12. Turbo Lover (Alternate Solo Version) (Judas Priest) digital bonus track

Produced by: Alessandro Del Vecchio
Executive Producer/A&R: Serafino Perugino

Ronnie Romero – vocals
Jose Rubio – guitars
Javi Garcia – bass
Andy C – drums
Alessandro Del Vecchio – keyboards
Alfredo Alonso – guitar solo on 2
Nozomu Wakai – guitar solo on 3
Gus G. – guitar solo on 6
Chris Caffery – all guitars on 7
Roland Grapow – rhythm & lead guitars on 9
Corina Minda – backing vocals on 2 & 5, spoken vocals on 6