December 16, 2022

Greek metal titans ROTTING CHRIST have just released a digital compilation featuring previously unreleased tracks. The Apocryphal Spells Vol I and II is out now on all digital streaming platforms. Listen to Vol I and Vol II now.

The Apocryphal Spells

Vol I

  1. Astral Embodiment (05:28)
  2. Moonlight (04:16)
  3. Phobia (05:40)
  4. Tormentor (cover) (02:33)
  5. Flag of Hate / Pleasure to Kill (cover) (04:09)

Vol II

  1. . Spiritus Sancti (04:50)
  2. I am the Moonchild (02:40)
  3. Noctis Era – remixed (04:50)
  4. I Will Not Serve (03:55)
  5. Black Sabbath (06:01)

ROTTING CHRIST has reached another peak in their long career that now spans over more than three decades. The Greeks have literally stood the test of time. With a steady core line-up and their well-honed live delivery, ROTTING CHRIST are filling concert halls and reap enthusiastic crowd reactions wherever they go. This demonstration of love from their followers is not just driven by nostalgia as the band has managed to evolve and grow, while staying relevant beyond the classics with their highly acclaimed latest albums such as Aealo (2010), Κατά τον δαίμονα εαυτού (2013), and Rituals (2016).

Now, with the new offering The HereticsROTTING CHRIST are opening a brand new chapter. With confidence and skills derived from experience, each song represents its own sonic universe. Guitarist and vocalist Sakis Tolis in collaboration with his brother Themis on drums achieve a perfect balance of amalgamating their classic and unique style of riffing and rhythm with exciting new elements sprinkled in to keep their material exciting and fresh. The experienced is enhanced by Jens Bogren’s equally clear and transparent yet also massive as well as sombre mix and mastering at his widely renowned Fascination Street Studios (AMORPHIS, BORKNAGAR, MOONSPELL, DEVIN TOWNSEND, and many more).

ROTTING CHRIST were founded by Sakis Tolis and his brother Themis in the year 1987. Starting out on a basis of death and grind, the Greeks had already embarked on a darker musical journey by the time their debut full-length Thy Mighty Contract (1993) was revealed. On the following seven albums covering a ten-year period from Non Serviam (1994) to Sanctus Diavolos (2004), ROTTING CHRIST steadily defined their own distinct style by experimenting with elements from death, heavy, and gothic metal without betraying their black roots. At the same time, the band went from underground heroes to headliner status. With the highly acclaimed ninth album, Theogonia (2007), the Greek stalwarts added an unmistakable native element to their sound, which has remained with them as a signature trademark ever since.

ROTTING CHRIST‘s massively successful latest release, Rituals (2016). With more than 30 years, 13 studio albums, a dozen EPs, singles and split releases, as well as more than 1.250 shows under their belt, 2018 marked the year of Their Greatest Spells (2018), where they musically revisited their exciting legacy to connect their past with the present. 

The Heretics marks another step in the evolution of the Greek masters. Buckle up for a fascinating musical ride through the woes of religious wars, Zoroastrianism and the eternal war between good and evil.  Metal at its best!


Official Website