May 16, 2021

There just has to be a machine somewhere in Sweden with the switch stuck on melodic rock that keeps on churning out rock band after rock band; either that or everyone in the country has his or her own AOR band! This is bad news if you hate melodic rock but AOR heaven for those of us who live and breathe all things Journey, Toto and Foreigner.

So, this is the debut album by Seventh Crystal, a band put together by vocalist Kristian Fyhr and is very much in hard but melodic rock territory so expect gorgeous and hook laden music very similar to that of Europe, One Desire, Talisman, Treat and H.E.A.T. The album is very much the Kristian Fyhr show as he treats us all to an exquisite display of anthemic power ballads and slow, smouldering soul infused tracks that David Coverdale in his pomp so excelled at. Fyhr might be the leader but he has a high quality team behind him with Emil Dornerus on guitar, Olof Gadd on bass, Johan Älvsång on keyboards and Anton Roos on drums and percussion. The musicians are all excellent and there are lots of vocal harmonies with Dornerus, Gadd and Älvsång all laying down quality vocal backing with additional vocals from Emelie Alm and even the cello makes an appearance courtesy of Hampus Linderholm.

Delirium is a classy and cultured 41-minute’s of stadium rock that rocks when it needs to but is mainly made up of the type of anthemic power ballads so beloved of these great ’80s hair metal bands. If you are into the more soulful side of AOR with burning, aching ballads that tug on your heartstrings then you will adore this perfectly played and wonderfully produced classic album. No rough edges or music in the raw here, just a simple melodic rock masterclass and with a vocalists destined for greatness.

Delirium track list

  1. Say What You Need To Say (3:55)
  2.  When We Were Young (2:54)
  3. Broken Mirror (3:58)
  4. Delirium (3:36)
  5. When I’m Gone (3:45)
  6. Should’ve Known Better (3:50)
  7. So Beautiful (3:32)
  8. Time To Let It Go (3:09)
  9. Déjà Vu (3:58)
  10. Bright And Clear (4:06)
  11.  Hope It Will Be Alright (4:31)