December 20, 2021

The gloriously over the top Skeletoon make a welcome return with album number five, the wonderfully entitled The 1.21 Gigawatts Club, which is a concept work based on the time travelling film Back To The Future. Quite possible, only Skeletoon would consider such a story line as perfect for re-telling in a power metal album!

The band treads the rather fine line between serious metal and parody and, when done correctly, it can be rather brilliant as per those crazy but adorable bands like Evil Scarecrow and Gloryhammer but get it wrong and you are damned. Of course, Skeletoon get it perfectly right because they know that if you are going to have some fun with the music then your level of musicianship needs to be up there with the best as you will always be held to a higher standard than all the other groups. So, the band’s music credentials are all in place and these are seriously good musicians after all so why not have a little fun along the way.

Skeletoon began life in 2001 after initially being a Helloween tribute act called Jack-O’-Lantern and decided early in life that there would be an element of chaotic lunacy in the approach and delivery and the subsequent albums had different themes including pirates, space, horror and also storylines involving The Goonies and Multiverse Superheroes so this is a band that always keeps you guessing as to what madness will come next. Predictably, the band maintains the current line up and this stability really has helped them to grow and develop into the monstrous power metal band they are now with Tomi Fooler on vocals, Andrea Cappellari and Davide Piletto on guitar, Jack Stiaccini on bass and Henry Sidoti on drums. They have several guests on the album too with Simone Bertozzi (Ancient Bards), Simone Mularoni (DGM) and Alessio Lucatti (Vision Divine) all joining in with the fun and antics with Mularoni also at the helm for recording, mixing and mastering duties. Vocalist Tomi Fooler is in imperious form and he sounds as good as he ever as do the twin guitars of Andrea Cappellari and Davide Piletto again working overtime as they throw everything that they have into fast and furious riffs and thrilling solos and all to a barrage of powerhouse drums form Sidoti and imperious bass from Cappellari.

If you are in need of an intense power metal pick me up then Skeletoon provide it by the bucket load on this intense heavy rocking romp. Lots of melody and vocal harmonies help to make the music immediately accessible whilst still being as bombastic and metal as ever. I honestly believe that this is the bands best album to date and the concept may be a little cheesy but the music is outstanding and ranks alongside the likes of Helloween, Rhapsody Of Fire, Gamma Ray, Dragonforce etc. If you need to escape into a fantasy world and crave the heavy metal rush that only power metal can deliver then get this brilliant album now! The band close the album with a great version of Johnny B. Goode which those who have seen the film, and who hasn’t, will understand why they have done it.

Great fun from a band that could only ever be from Italy where they delight in performing the strange and abstract on a daily basis!

The 1.21 Gigawatts Club

  1. Intro: Unveiling Secrets (0:53)
  2. Holding On (5:34)
  3. Outatime (4:03)
  4. The Pinheads (3:41)
  5. 2204 (3:54)
  6. Enchant Me (4:51)
  7. We Don’t Need Roads (The Great Scott Madness) (4:36)
  8. Pleasure Paradise (Oh Là Là) (5:00)
  9. The 4th Dimensional Legacy (4:47)
  10. Eastwood Ravine (7:22)
  11. Johnny B. Goode (2:32)