June 6, 2022

Skills in a new band featuring a stellar cast of hard, melodic rock musicians in vocalist Renan Zonta (Electric Mob), guitarist Brad Gillis (Night Ranger), bassist Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big, The Winery Dogs, Sons Of Apollo), and drummer David Huff (Giant) and if that line-up doesn’t make you sit up in eager anticipation then you are most probably dead! In truth, I do not even think there is much more to be said as this is band made up pretty much by rock royalty and all have made huge contributions to the rock world. Maybe the one name that needs a little more clarification is Renan Zonta and his band Electric Mob but in Brazil just the mention of Zonta will have rock fans nodding in appreciation. If you get chance then you should check out the Electric Mob debut album Discharge which came out in 2020 and is a real monster of traditional American sleaze rock in true Motley Crüe, L.A. Guns and Skid Row traditions.

The band is awesome and Zonta is an incredible vocal find and superstardom beckons for this man with the magical voice. He has huge power and range with a voice somewhere between Ronnie James Dio and David Coverdale and when he opens up then run for cover as this man is a human air raid warning. Obviously, those clever guys at Frontiers know a major talent when they see one and so Skills has been put together to show what he can do and by combining his skills with the talents that Gillis, Sheehan and Huff have then you know that you are going to get a huge, spectacular hard rock album that sweeps all before it. Different Worlds is very much designed as a rock homage to ’80s metal with the Frontiers writing team (including Alessandro Del Vecchio, Renan Zonta, Martin Jepsen Andersen, Pete Alpenborg and Gui Oliver) putting together a killer set of melodic rock songs that roar along with exactly the correct amount of metal mayhem teamed with melodic sensibilities.

The individual performances are amazing with Brad Gillis giving a real masterclass in how to handle a lead guitar with power, fluidity and dexterity with Billy Sheehan and David Huff combining perfectly as two genuine masters of the rhythm section; rarely has the combination of drums and bass sounded better! Alessandro Del Vecchio (who else?) contributes some classic keyboard sounds and thrilling backing vocals too and he helps to take the vocal harmonies on the album to a new level. The guys all work tremendously well together and not a hint of ego in sight just sheer professionalism that drives them to produce the very best album that they can and what a job they have done.

The album really rocks but there are a number of exquisite ballads too that show that Zonta has an incredibly soul infused voice and together the band really has gelled. Different Worlds would have been a colossal record if it had come out in the mid-’80s when melodic rock ruled the airwaves and it most definitely has the sounds to make a huge impact today and shows that not all the best rock albums were recorded forty years ago.

What a band, what an album and you most definitely owe it to yourself to get a copy immediately.

Different Worlds

  1. Escape Machine (3:27)
  2. Blame It On The Night (3:06)
  3. Different Worlds (4:13)
  4. Losing The Track (3:59)
  5. Writings On The Wall (3:29)
  6. Show Me The Way (4:28)
  7. Just When I Needed You (3:56)
  8. Need To Fall (3:17)
  9. Stop The World (4:10)
  10. Hearts Of Stone (3:53)
  11. Don’t Break My Heart (3:53)