February 19, 2024

Smoking Snakes is a new Swedish heavy rock band with distinct sleaze rock influences with Danger Zone being their appropriately titled debut album as listening to their full-on metal onslaught is akin to living in a paper house in a hurricane zone! The band has taken their influences directly from the major US sleaze rock bands in Ratt, Skid Row and W.A.S.P. and, with additional AC/DC touches, neatly turned them into fairly typical Swedish metal being upbeat and hugely enjoyable with lots of hooks and great choruses.

Vocalist and rhythm guitarist Brett Martin has a delivery in the style of Brian Johnson with the wonderfully named Leo Razor adding to the AC/DC feel with some stunning guitar which even Angus would approve of. The rather non-Swedish names continue with stabbing, frenetic bass from Andy Delarge with Stan Ricci matching him for power and intensity on drums.

Smoking Snakes plays with a swagger in their stride and a smile on their lips but their delivery is total hard rock with the songs being short, sharp slabs of metal boogie delight. Danger Zone is a short album for sure but, in best Ramones style, why does it have to be long if it comes in hard and quick, kicks ass and then moves onto the next crunching track?

I bet these boys are a wonder on stage and if you get the chance to see them live then grab it with both hands. Danger Zone is an assured debut from a band who sound like they have been at it for years, great fun but the neighbours may have to tell you to turn it down!

  1. Angels Calling (3:18)
  2. Sole Survivors (3:24)
  3. Run For Your Life (3:33)
  4. Lady Lucky (4:08)
  5. Excited (3:38)
  6. Restless And Wild (3:22)
  7. Sorrow, Death And Pain (3:21)
  8. There Is No Tomorrow (3:14)
  9. Who Am I (3:39)
  10. We Are Alive (3:36)
  11. Rocking To The Morning Light (2:46)