August 27, 2021

Social Disorder is a new project put together by the Swedish musician Anders ‘LA’ Rönnblom and some of you may know of him and his work as founder and song writer for Killer Bee and X-Romance as well as being a member of Wolfpakk. The rationale behind the project is that this is the story of Rönnblom and his journey through music and the personal demons that he has battled with over the years including his fight with alcoholism. I guess one good thing to come out of life’s trials and tribulations is that it provides very good source material if you are a musician! He has brought in a wealth of well known talent to breathe life into the project and he has previously worked with many of them so they were more than pleased to be involved with the album. Rönnblom must have quite an address book to bring in guitarist Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns), bassist Rudy Sarzo (Quiet Riot, Ozzy Osbourne, Whitesnake), guitarist Jeff Duncan (Armored Saint), keyboard player Dave Stone (Rainbow), drummer Snowy Shaw (King Diamond, Dream Evil, Mercyful Fate), drummer Shawn Duncan (DC4), guitarist Johan Niskanen (Dust), keyboard player Leif Ehlin (Perfect Plan) and two colleagues from X-Romance in guitarist Fredrik Tjerneld and keyboard player Thomas Widmark. That’s one hell of a roster to which we must also add Rönnblom himself who plays guitar, bass and piano as well as writing all of the material and then he introduces us to a new Swedish singing sensation in Thomas Nordin, supposedly, a previously undiscovered artist but one who is destined for great things based on his thrilling delivery on this album. 

Anders Rönnblom takes us back in time to the glory metal years of the ’80s and ’90s for this old school record that may have its roots set in the 80’s but it also has a very contemporary sound being fresh, new and vibrant. The album was recorded with Rönnblom laying down the basic framework of the tracks which were then sent out to the other musicians and they then recorded their own pieces and added them to the ever growing pieces. It seems that they were all given a free reign on how to play the music which could have been chaos but it all turned out quite perfectly. Thomas Nordin came on-board after a recommendation by Leif Ehlin who said that he had come across a new singer with a sound very similar to the mighty Joe Lynn Turner and he completed the final piece of the jigsaw and so a melodic/hard rock masterpiece was created. In truth, I think he has more of a sound of David Coverdale about him and when you draw comparisons with singers of that magnitude then you really should expect great things to happen in your career.

The songs are perfectly written and all are hook filled prime examples of how melodic rock should be played and nearly all fall into the epic stadium rock category; if it ever becomes a live project then it will surely be the hottest ticket in town. The sound and feel of the project is somewhere between the classic AOR of Whitesnake whilst still retaining something of the band’s early blues vibe and a distinct Dio/Rainbow feel too.

You most definitely have to give Love 2 Be Hated a listen as it will blow you away especially if you have been brought up on the ’80s rock giants.

Love 2 Be Hated track list

  1. Windy Road (4:38)
  2. Dreaming (4:32)
  3. Scars (2:52)
  4. Love 2 Be Hated (3:27)
  5. Raise a Glass (4:11)
  6. Sail Away (3:46)
  7. Down On My Knees (3:42)
  8. Out of Love (2:46)
  9. The One (3:34)
  10. Wings of Serenity (4:22)