April 20, 2021

Stranger Vision is a new progressive metal band out of Italy which was formed in 2019 by the guitarist Riccardo Toni and vocalist Ivan Adami. They quickly brought in drummer Luca Giacopini, bass player Daniele Morini and Gabriele Sarti on keyboards to complete the team with Poetica being the band’s sit up and take notice debut release. The music was written and recorded in 2020 which cannot have been easy given the Covid restrictions placed on everyone and now the record is out there but, obviously, the band are unable to tour to bring this spectacular album to the concert hungry hordes of Europe. Let’s all hope that this situation changes soon and we can all get back to enjoying live music! 

Simone Bertozzi (Ancient Bards) was the recording engineer with mixing and mastering being done by the ever hard working Simone Mularoni (DGM) and these guys know a thing or two about symphonic and power metal so the job they have done here is tremendous. The star names didn’t end there either as the band has managed to secure the services of some impressive guests with vocalist Fabio Dessi (Arthemis and Hollow Haze) on Hero Of The New World, singer Alessia Scolletti (Temperance) on Memories Of You, guitarist Guido Benedetti (Trick Or Treat) with a solo and singer Alessandro Conti (Twilight Force/Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody both featuring on Rage and the icing on the cake with Zak Stevens (Savatage/ TSO, Circle II Circle) on Before The Law.

The music is pure and exhilarating power metal delivered with style, panache and a great deal of Italian flair. There is an element of the bombastic approach of Rhapsody Of Fire but the main flavour is of Blind Guardian and Freedom Call. Ivan Adami has an incredible voice full of power and a demanding insistency that pushes the band ever forward and he is another truly talented singer to keep tabs on as he has the talent, drive and ambition that will bring kudos to any project he turns to. However, he is in a very good place at the moment as this is a stunning debut release from a most talented band of musicians and it is going to be very interesting to see how they develop as Poetica is an album that is going to take some beating. Riccardo Toni is a fabulous guitarist and his riffs and solos very much define the Stranger Vision sound as he cranks up the power with a real virtuoso performance. Drummer Luca Giacopini combines perfectly with bass player Daniele Morini to set up a crunching platform over which Toni lays down thrilling runs with some equally divine keyboards from Gabriele Sarti ensuring that the album remains melodic with his sublime and lush sounds.

Add great songs with plenty of hooks and wonderful vocal harmonies plus guest performances that enhance rather than distract and you have a most impressive album to truly savour.

Poetica track list

  1. Awakening Prelude (1:09)
  2. Gates Of Tomorrow (4:21)
  3. Human Change (4:28)
  4. Soul Redemption (4:05)
  5. Never Give Up (4:29)
  6. Memories Of You (5:59)
  7. The Dying Light (1:24)
  8. Rage (5:34)
  9. Over And Over (5:11)
  10. Before The Law (5:16)
  11. Wish (4:11)
  12. Defying Gravity (4:54)
  13. Hero Of The New World (5:11)
  14. Invictus (1:36)
  15. Soul Redemption (Deep Version) (3:54)