August 23, 2023

I have said on many occasions that the sheer number of AOR/Melodic rock bands coming out of Sweden is overwhelming and for a nation of around 10 million people is most remarkable.

This leads neatly onto the band Streetlight which, as I’m sure you have already guessed, is another in what appears to be a seemingly never-ending line of new bands from that part of the world. Streetlight hail from Jönköping in the south of Sweden having been put together in 2021 by guitarist Erik Tilling who celebrated the news that the legendary rock giants Journey were recording a new album by writing a song (Overjoyed) in the style of the American maestros which he demoed with the Finish singer and producer Johannes Häger which they subsequently sent on to them for consideration. Journey didn’t pick up on the song but this ultimately led to the formation of Streetlight with the song, quite obviously, now featuring on this debut release. Tilling then left the band with the personnel now involved on this record being Häger on vocals and guitar, Filip Stenlund on guitar, John Svensson on keyboards, Johan Tjernström on bass and Erik Nilsson on drums.

Ignition is very much an American AOR themed release built on those glory days of the 80’s and is particularly of interest to fans of Journey, Toto and Kansas with big choruses, strong hooks and anthemic melodies being the order of the day. Ignition is a slick, easy listening melodic rock album full of pleasing performances with great vocals and neat guitar which all melodic rock fans will surely enjoy and, for sure, they are not in the same class as Toto or Journey but then who is? However, this is the first release and it’s a pretty good statement of intent for a release so early in the bands career.


  1. Hit the Ground (3:27)
  2. Chutes and Ladders (4:00)
  3. Stay (3:23)
  4. Love Riot (3:13)
  5. Closer (4:36)
  6. Caught Up in a Dream (4:02)
  7. Awake (4:08)
  8. Fire Burnin’ (3:25)
  9. Overjoyed (3:49)
  10. Words for Mending Hearts (3:53)
  11. Malibu Pier (4:27)

Ignition is available now on Frontiers Records