February 5, 2021

Frontiers Music Srl is thrilled to announce the return of Sweet Oblivion, the metal project centred around former Queensrÿche vocalist Geoff Tate, with a second album entitled Relentless set for release on 9th April 2021.  

Relentless follows a well received self-titled debut in 2019 that brought Tate back to a musical landscape somewhat akin to the classic albums he released with his former band in the 1980s. However, what made the debut work so well was that, rather than being a mere throwback, other musical influences were thrown into the mix, allowing fans to hear Tate in both familiar and new settings.

The bulk of the song writing and production on that record had been handled by Simone Mularoni of Italian prog metal masters DGM, but for this follow-up his compatriot Aldo Lonobile (of Secret Sphere, Timo Tolkki’s Avalon and Archon Angel) is on production duties as well as playing guitar. The other primary musicians on the album are bassist Luigi Andreone, keyboardist Antonio Agate and drummer Michele Sanna, while the songs are largely written by Tate and Lonobile.

One song in particular, entitled Aria, was drafted by Lonobile at Tate‘s request and is sung in Italian. It features guitars from Walter Cianciusi and Dario Parente, who are both now part of Tate‘s Operation: Mindcrime live band.

Says Tate: “I have been spending more and more time in Italy over the last few years and the people and their culture have captured my heart. I truly enjoyed working with my Italian counterparts to create this classic metal album.”

In showcasing the song writing and performing talent of Tate, Lonobile and the other musicians involved. Relentless marks a welcome return for Tate to a style that he has already made famous. Fans both past and present will not want to miss it.

Geoff Tate – vocals
Aldo Lonobile – guitars
Luigi Andreone – bass
Antonio Agate – keyboards
Michele Sanna – drums