February 27, 2023

The latest project from the Frontiers label is a very worthy and most pleasing AOR/melodic rock vehicle featuring not one but three exceptional golden voiced singers pooling their considerable talents to make for a glossy and honey dripping delight.

The band is made up by the two very well-known American artists Robbie LaBlanc and Toby Hitchcock alongside Kent Hilli, the Swedish singer on the fast track to stardom. Now, the idea of three vocalists is not new but really came to prominence with the rise of the Three Tenors aka Jose Carreras, Placido Domingo and Luciano Pavarotti; all individually brilliant voices but combined they became a huge and global phenomenon. The rock world took notice and around 20 years ago there was an idea to combine the superstars Bruce Dickinson, Rob Halford, and Geoff Tate but sadly this remained a pipedream. However, the project did get off the ground in 2018 when three of the most powerful voices in heavy metal came together to become the Three Tremors which is obviously a clever pun of the operatic threesome. A marriage of Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens, Harry ‘The Tyrant’ Conklin and Sean ‘The Hell Destroyer’ Peck is truly a fantasy hard rock team that few of us ever thought we would see but the self-titled debut came out a year later with Guardians Of The Void then being put out in 2021. You may not have heard their music but with the voices of Cage, Jag Panzer and Priest plus so many others then hard rock heaven is guaranteed and the records thrill to the very core.

Perhaps it is a surprise that the Frontiers label has taken so long to join the party especially when you consider the talent pool of exceptional singers that they have on their roster. However, they have chosen well and selected a team that represents both the old and new guard of AOR with Toby Hitchcock making a name for himself with his solo work and as part of Pride Of Lions with the one and only Jim Peterik. Robbie LaBlanc is an exceptionally talented singer, guitarist and songwriter especially known for his work with Blanc Faces, East Temple Avenue and Find Me alongside Daniel Flores with the team very much completed by Kent Hilli who is making a huge name for himself with Perfect Plan and as the new voice of Giant. Individually, these guys are off the scale but put them together and the synchronicity is absolutely amazing as they work together so well and push each other to scale the heights of melodic rock. The music behind the three is supplied by the False Memories guitarist Francesco Savino with drums from Jacopo Martignoni and, this being Frontiers, everything else in the way of bass, guitars, keyboards and backing vocals as well as production duties is supplied by the hard-working and exceptionally talented Alessandro Del Vecchio.

The music is rich, delightful and hook laden as should be expected with the songs being simply perfect AOR standards that you easily slip into like a pair of comfortable shoes. Think of Magnum, Toto, Giant and Journey and you’ll have an idea of the excellent and very easily listening melodic rock that the band offers up for your pleasure. Just one small moan, the download features three bonus tracks which are not available on the CD so you pay less and get more which is a very poor way to treat your customers and, I hope, that this is not a direction that the record label wants to take us in!

Naked Soul

  1. April Rain (3:59)
  2. Naked Soul (3:38)
  3. Nights (3:42)
  4. Time Is Coming (3:47)
  5. Silent Cries (4:22)
  6. Torn (3:27)
  7. I Could (5:00)
  8. Mother Love (3:44)
  9. Set Fire To The Rain (3:55)
  10. Stand For Love (3:34)
  11. Strength To Carry On (4:19)